LibGuides: HIST 300: Historical Research (Simonsen): Find Secondary Sources

Find Secondary Sources

Find Articles
Find Books

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database offers more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and over 13,200 publications including books, reports, and conference proceedings. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion eBook Collection
Focusing on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, these unlimited-use eBooks represent topics of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious beliefs. Use the Advance Search and select “DEI Subscription” on the right hand side of the screen to search for books in this collection.
Project Muse
The library subscribes to the Humanities Collection which contains full-text coverage of journal articles on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and more.

PRISMA This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Institute of the University of California, Los Angeles. Coverage 1966 to present.
Linked with the HAPI Index

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Alternate Name(s): HAPI
A source of over 335,000 journal article citations, HAPI provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
Middle West Review (journal)
"The Middle West Review is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal focused on studying the American Midwest, a “lost region” which has received far less scholarly attention than other American regions.... It provides a forum for scholars and non-scholars alike to explore the meaning of Midwestern identity, history, geography, society, culture, and politics."

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find books, you have several options:

Library Holdings: This searches physical items found on the shelves in the Tredway Library, as well as electronic items like eBooks and videos. The Library Holdings search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

All I-Share Libraries: This searches for physical books and media from other academic libraries across Illinois. Many of these ietms can be requested for delivery to Tredway Library through a service called I-Share (eBooks, with some exceptions, are normally not available to request due to licensing restrictions).

Tredway Resources (Library Holdings+Articles): This searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

Open-Access Resources

Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge."
Digital Commons Network
This is a vast network of open access content from colleges and universities across the world. Augustana Digital Commons is part of the Digital Commons Network.
Subject areas: All
HathiTrust
"HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection."
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
OATD is an index "resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 6,420,812 theses and dissertations."