Resources to help students, faculty, and staff deepen their understanding of the pervasiveness of racism, the experiences of people of color, and what they can do to eliminate racial disparities locally and globally.
The databases below are also good places to start a search for academic articles focusing on issues of racial justice. If you are having trouble finding articles, see our Finding Articles tutorial, or ask a librarian for help.
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Focuses on the NAACP’s efforts regarding anti-lynching, peonage, and discrimination in employment and the criminal justice system.
A rich set of records in this module is the NAACP file on one of the most celebrated criminal trials of the 20th century: the case of the Scottsboro boys. In this case, nine young black men were accused of raping two white women on a train in northern Alabama. Sixteen days after their arrest, eight of the nine teenagers were sentenced to death in the electric chair. All eight escaped execution when the Supreme Court, in the landmark case of Powell v. Alabama, ruled that the defendants had been inadequately represented by counsel.
Focusing on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, these unlimited-use eBooks represent topics of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious beliefs. Use the Advance Search and select “DEI Subscription” on the right hand side of the screen to search for books in this collection.
