The Swenson Center holds several archival collections relating to sports and athletics. Here are a few:
I/O:3 Collection of Swedish American Athletic Club (Moline, Ill.) articles
This collection includes newspaper articles from the Moline Daily Dispatch relating to activities of the Swedish American Athletic Club of Moline from 1929-1941. Includes both photocopies and transcriptions of articles by the donor. Collection also includes a black and white photograph of the Terrible Swedes baseball team of Andover from 1931 and 5 floppy discs.
I/O:58 Upsala College (East Orange, N.J.) records
The records cover most aspects of the life and scope of Upsala College from its founding in 1893 to its closing in 1995. Included are the papers of the presidents, the records from the dean's offices, the minutes of the Board of Directors, the comptroller, and other administrative offices. The collection also contains some faculty publications, records of student organizations such as the Swedish literary society Samfundet De Nio, and photographs depicting early campus life. See especially:
Series VIII: Student organizations and papers (1893-1995)
Series XIV: Photographs (1895-1990) -- Many of these have been digitized.
SAC P:320 A Baseball story
A baseball story: A Swedish farmer's impression of the game; unknown author, no date. The story describes a Swedish farmer’s first encounter and impressions of a baseball game in a comedic fashion.
SA-48 Swedish-American Athletic Club (Brooklyn, N.Y.) records
The collection consists of minutes from 1926-1930 (262 pages), 1943-1946 (300 pages) and 1946-1954 (298 pages); Scrapbooks from 1910-1927 (115 pages), 1928-1938 (85 pages).
SC-193 Scandia Athletic Club (Hartford, Conn.) records
The collection consists of minutes 1931-1939, 491 pages; resume of activities from 1933-1955, 251 pages; financial records from 1925-1927, 57 pages; and scrapbook from 1923-1948, 246 pages. The club was founded in 1923.