Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LGBTQA+ Resources

Special Collections

The Special Collections division includes several collections available to researchers regarding LGBTQ+ communities. The materials include organizational records, ephemera, artists’ books, and published works. 

For more information, visit us in person or reach out via email at specialcollections@augustana.edu.

The Rare Books collection include artists' books by queer artists, including Cheri Gaulke, Sue Maberry, and Benjamin Rinehart. Special Collections also has a growing list of historical editions by LGBTQ+ authors. 


Lorraine Hansberry
A raisin in the sun: a drama in three acts
Call Number: Rare Books PS3515.A515 R3 1959
Publication Date: 1959

Oscar Wilde
Salomé: a tragedy in one act
Call Number: Rare Books PR5820 .S2 1920
Publication Date: 1920

Langston Hughes
Simple speaks his mind
Call Number: Rare Books PS3515.U274 S53 1950
Publication Date: 1950

Cheri Gaulke and Sue Maberry
Offerings at the crossroads
Call Number: Rare Books N7433.4.G38 O44 2005
Publication Date: 2005

Marriage Matters
Call Number: Rare Books N7433.4.G38 M37 2005
Publication Date: 2005

Benjamin Rinehart
The boys & Bubs. Daddy & Papa
Call Number: Rare Books N7433.4R557 D33 2016
Publication Date: 2016

The boys & Bubs. The wig master
Call Number: Rare Books N7433.4R557 W55 2016
Publication Date: 2016
 

Special Collections consists of over 400 collections. Each collection can range from one small box to over 100 boxes. The majority of the manuscript collections are related to either Augustana history, local history, or both. Use ArchivesSpace to search across the finding aids or collections.

Augustana College Department of Women’s and Gender Studies records: Includes ephemera, correspondence, and papers collected by the Women’s and Gender Studies Department. Founded in 1985, the program uses an interdisciplinary approach that incorporates the offerings of many different departments at the College— English, History, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology— to explore issues of gender, power, and sexuality.

National Organization for Women (Quad Cities Chapter) records:  The Quad Cities chapter of the National Organization for Women (QC NOW) began in August 1970 with a few women who organized a teach-in on women's rights. The teach-in was well attended, and a small group of the women began holding regular meetings at the Omega House in Rock Island. The collection includes content regarding the local chapter, as well as the state, regional, and national NOW organizations. 
 

Vertical files are created and maintained by Special Collections staff to document people, organizations, events, and other subjects. They largely consist of clippings and ephemeral items like programs, newsletters, and announcements. However, some files may include original manuscripts, archival records, or photographs. Search our growing list  for more content. 

Augustana College – LGBT Issues
Quad Cities – LGBTQ+
Augustana College - Lighthouse (Augustana's Lesbian and Gay Organization)
Augustana College - Prism: Augustana's Gay/Straight Alliance
Augustana College - Gay Straight Alliance (GSA)