OneSearch provides a simple way to search for popular and scholarly books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. You have several options:
Tredway Library Resources (ALiCat+Articles): This searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources). This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center. This is the default search option.
ALiCat Only: ALiCat stands for Augustana Library Catalog. Our catalog includes physical items found on the shelves in the Tredway Library, as well as electronic items like eBooks and videos. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
All I-Share Libraries: This searches for physical books and media from other academic libraries across Illinois. Many of these items can be requested for delivery to Tredway Library through a service called I-Share (eBooks, with some exceptions, are normally not available to request due to licensing restrictions).
Tredway Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system to organize our physical collections. Remember that many print materials come from university presses and may be considered scholarly sources.
Most relevant resources will be found in the social sciences section (H):
Our reference collection is located on the 2nd (main) floor of the library. Sadly, reference books can't leave the library! You may photocopy some pages that are helpful (generally 1 chapter or up to 10% of the material), but the physical material can't be checked out the way that circulating books can. If you need to access reference books while you're outside the library, our electronic reference tools are very helpful and include hundreds of credible and useful materials.
Disability in American Life by OneSearch is a great resource, but the same thing that makes it great (searching so many of our resources at once) can also make it rather overwhelming. Sometimes a more focused approach is better. Here are some of the best library databases to find scholarly articles related to disability studies:
Finding your research is one thing, saving it reliably is another. Most databases have nice and clear options for downloading the articles you find directly, for sending them to your Google Drive, or for emailing them to yourself.
Another option is to save the article's Permalink or DOI (Digital Object Identifier). Below is a screenshot showing how to find the Permalink option in the Academic Search Complete database rather than copying the URL from the browser. The interface may be different in other databases, but there will usually be an option for a permalink, sometimes called a "Get Link" or a "Stable URL."
Never copy the URL directly from the address bar to save your research -- this will work in some rare cases, but more often when using databases the URL in your browser's address bar will be what is known as a "session link" based on your current search session. Session links expire and will not allow you to access the resource again in the future.
Trust me on this, I see someone lose their research every semester because of this!
