LibGuides: LING 261: Intercultural Pragmatics (Bordería): Library Resources

Databases

Here are helpful databases which contain scholarly articles which may be relevant to cultural studies. These could be helpful places to start researching your chosen speech act for your literature review.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.

Below are listed some of the library's journal databases that may be of use to you for research in Spanish, French, and other non-English languages. Some databases may be more appropriate for your topic than others, and some have more articles in Spanish than others. Pay attention to the databases' descriptions; to see a full list of our databases, please look at our A-Z database list.

Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities.
PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
Offers access to more than 600,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 2,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
A source of over 335,000 journal article citations, HAPI provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s. Coverage includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
Offers the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet transcriptions of opera arias and art song texts. Latin, Italian, German, French, Spanish, and English works are included. Browse by composer, arias, poets, or Latin texts.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts as well as historical aspects of printing and publishing.
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Institute of the University of California, Los Angeles. Coverage 1966 to present.
Linked with the HAPI Index

These non-traditional databases may also contain information useful to your research.

Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos of classic and contemporary documentaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnography and social psychology.
All programming includes public performance rights.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of sexual diversity issues containing more than 921,000 records spanning from 1972 to the present.
Our World in Data This link opens in a new window
A broad perspective, covering an extensive range of aspects that matter for our lives. Measuring economic growth is not enough. The research publications on Our World in Data are dedicated to a large range of global problems in health, education, violence, political power, human rights, war, poverty, inequality, energy, hunger, and humanity’s impact on the environment.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer visualizes and interacts with data, create maps, charts, reports. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Newspapers are great places to look to find information and learn different perspectives of different events. Included below are several very helpful newspaper databases; some are for current news, while others are historical newspapers. Look at the descriptions to find out the years covered.

If you're specifically searching for newspaper articles from other countries and are having a hard time finding resources, ask a librarian.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
Now called Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
1. Access Nexis Uni through the Augustana College library website (choose “Databases A-Z” from the drop-down menu at the bottom).
2. Click Sign In / Register in the top right.
3. Click Create a profile now on the right.
4. Enter your name and your Augustana email address.
5. Complete the sign-in profile.
6. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
Keeping your access active: In order to keep access active, users are required to sign in from an on-campus computer or device every six months to maintain authorization.
NewspaperArchive This link opens in a new window
The NewspaperArchive World Collection includes:
• 16,100+ newspapers and publications
• 290+ million pages (and constantly growing)
• 3 billion+ photos and articles
• Over 9 billion names
• 413 years of newspapers: 1607 - Today
• Content from 48 countries
Newsstand Expanded This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines including The Atlanta Journal Constitution, The Boston Global, The Chicago Tribune, The Denver Post, USA Today, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

A-Z Newspaper Databases
This is a full list of Tredway Library's newspaper databases.

Sometimes we may not have full-text access to an article that you need. However, there is still a way you can access it by using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL is a service that is free for the Augustana community, and allows you to request articles that you would like to use for your research. If you don't have an account yet, make sure to make one now!

If an article isn't available to you, you will see a "Request item from Interlibrary Loan" option that you may select. You can also use the link below to sign into your account, and manually enter the article information.

Once a request is received, library staff members will search for the item and attempt to obtain it from another library. Articles and book chapters are delivered to your email as a PDF within 24-48 hours. Physical items (books, DVDs, scores, etc.) typically take 5-10 business days (does not include weekends) to arrive from the lending library.

This service is particularly useful when encountering research from platforms like Google Scholar which may not have full text available. Never pay for access to materials! Try I-Share or ILL first, or talk to a librarian about how we might get access to the research you need.

For more information about interlibrary loan, call 309-794-7585.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary loan (ILL) enables access and delivery of materials held by other libraries around the world. This service is free of charge to students, faculty, and staff of the College.