LibGuides: Scandinavian Studies: Find Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Reference Resources

Dictionaries
Encyclopedias

Print English-Swedish Dictionary Resources

The following language dictionary can be found on the 2nd (main) floor of the library. Search OneSearch to locate additional dictionaries, including some that are available to check out.

Norstedts Comprehensive English-Swedish Dictionary
Call Number: PD5640 .N682 2000 (2nd floor reference collection)
Publication Date: 2000

Online Swedish-English Dictionary Resources

Lexin Online Dictionary
The Lexin Dictionary is a robust Swedish language dictionary published by the Swedish Language Council that is intended to help immigrants translate into their native languages.
The People's Dictionary
The People's Dictionary is a free Swedish-English dictionary that invites public contributions to translation efforts.
Swedish Academy Dictionary
The Swedish Academy Dictionary is comparable to the Oxford English Dictionary in that it provides both a standard definition and a lexical records of the term's development.

Multiple Languages

WordReference
WordReference is one of the most-used online resources for bilingual dictionaries and language tools. Among others, WordReference has resources for French, Spanish, Italian, German, Swedish, Chinese, and Japanese language learning.

Print Reference Resources:

Tredway Library uses the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification system to organize our physical collection. Consider searching in the following sections of our reference collection, located on the 2nd (main) floor of the library. Remember that the following call numbers are helpful for this subject area:

PD's: Germanic and Scandinavian language materials
PT7001-7550: Scandinavian literatures
DL's: Scandinavian history and culture materials

Important note: reference books can't leave the library! You may photocopy some pages that are helpful, but the physical material can't be checked out the way that circulating books can. If you need to access reference books while you're outside the library, our electronic reference tools are very helpful.

Scandinavian Online Reference Resources:

Svensk Historisk Bibliografi (1771-2010): Bibliography of Swedish historical texts
- Swedish National Bibliographic Databases
Dictionary of Swedish National Biography: A biographical database "of significant people and their achievements at various stages in the development of Swedish society"
Norsk Biografisk Leksikon: Norse biographical lexicon/database
Dansk Biografisk Leksikon: Danish biographical lexicon/database
National Biography of Finland: Online collection of 100+ Finnish biographies

General eReference Databases:

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A vast collection of electronic reference books covering a wide variety of subject areas, Gale Virtual Reference Library is an excellent place to start your research.
Credo Reference
This is an online reference library that provides unlimited and remote simultaneous access to current, integrated, full-text content from a selection of over 200 reference books from 55 publishers with over 2 million entries. Credo includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from health to technology and science to law, not to mention the Bridgeman Art Library with over 16,000 art images.