FYI101 - Magalhães

If an article doesn't have a full-text link in the database, it doesn't mean you can't access the article! Follow these steps to locate the full-text of an article.

1. Look carefully to be sure there isn't a link to the full text. It might say "full text" or it might say "PDF full text" or "HTML full text."
2. If you don't see a full-text link, visit the library homepage and enter three or more words from the article title in the search box, in quotation marks.  
   For example, to find this article:
   Foster, Jacob G., Andrey Rzhetsky, and James A. Evans. "Tradition and innovation in scientists’ research strategies." American Sociological Review 80.5 (2015): 875-908.
   ...you might copy/paste "tradition and innovation in scientists'" to the OneSearch box.
   
   
    
3. If Augustana doesn't have immediate access to the article you need, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Submit or view an Interlibrary Loan request

If you are unable to locate resources for your research from either the local or I-Share catalogs, you also have the option to request items through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL enables access and delivery of materials held by other libraries around the world. This service is free of charge to students, faculty, and staff of the College. It is not available to non-Augustana users. 

There are three ways to request materials from other libraries:

• Use the request form directly on ILLIAD.
• Use the ILLiad request button within OneSearch to request materials. 
• Search for and request the item from WorldCat to borrow materials from libraries around the world.

Once a request is received, library staff members will search for the item and attempt to obtain it from another library. Articles and book chapters are delivered to your email as a PDF within 24-48 hours. Physical items (books, DVDs, scores, etc.) typically take 5-10 business days (does not include weekends) to arrive from the lending library.

For more information about ILL, call 309-794-7585.