LibGuides: Special Collections: Researching Augustana College History: Audiovisual Materials

Audiovisual Material

While our collections do include a substantial amount of audiovisual material, most of these items are in formats for which we do not have any available playback mechanism on site. A small portion of audiovisual materials have been reformatted/digitized, and some of those may be accessed online via our digital collections (see links below) while others may require a visit to the reading room. If you wish to access an audiovisual item that has not yet been reformatted, the item will first have to be sent to an audiovisual preservation digitization service provider for reformatting to the appropriate preservation standards, which can be a costly and time-consuming process. As we do not have a dedicated budget for audiovisual reformatting, all costs for digitizing audiovisual material will be passed on to the patron requesting access.

There is audiovisual content in many different manuscript collections, but certain collections contain especially large concentrations of Augustana-related AV material. The links below will take you directly to the finding aids for these collections.

Manuscript Collections containing Augustana-related AV material:

Digital Collections containing Augustana-related AV material:

Digital Special Collections: Augustana College Audiovisual Collection
This digital collection contains a sampling of materials from the Augustana College audiovisual collection (MSS 395 in our manuscript collections). Representing approximately a tenth of total material in the source manuscript collection, the digital collection includes moving image footage of various types from the 1930's to the 1990's. The content is primarily promotional footage and special events. From the landing page from the collection, click on "browse all items in the collection" to see a complete listing.
Digital Special Collections: Oral History Interviews
This digital collection contains a wide range of oral history interviews produced by Augustana faculty, staff, and students from the 1980's through the 2010's. Items in this digital collection are part of the Oral History Interviews manuscript collection (MSS 291). Some were born digital and some have been digitized from analog audio formats. The subject matter of many of the interviews is pertinent to the history of Augustana College, but there are also groups of interviews conducted by students for oral history courses that focused on various local history topics that may or may not touch directly on Augustana's history. From the landing page from the collection, click on "browse all items in the collection" to see a complete listing.