Music

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find books, you have several options:

• Library holdings only: This is the local holdings catalog. Our catalog includes physical items found on the shelves in the Tredway Library, as well as electronic items like eBooks and videos. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center. 
• All I-Share Libraries: This searches for physical books and media from other academic libraries across Illinois. Many of these items can be requested for delivery to Tredway Library through a service called I-Share (eBooks, with some exceptions, are normally not available to request due to licensing restrictions).  
• Tredway resources (Library holdings + Articles): This searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the OneSearch box above. You'll not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date. 

Remember that the following call numbers are helpful for any subject dealing with music:

• M: Music (General)
  • M1500 materials include full scores and orchestrations for operas, operettas, and musicals, first organized by the last name of the composer and then alphabetically by show title. 
  • M1503 materials include piano-vocal scores, first organized by the last name of the composer and then alphabetically by show title.
  • M1508 materials include individual selections (piano-vocal sheet music) from dramatic works including stage and film musicals and musical revues. Selections in the M1508 call number are organized by title of show (for example, all selections from The King and I are located in the same folder).
• ML's: Music Literature
  • The ML96 classification number identifies manuscript scores and music sketches either written or annotated in the hand of the composer.
• MT's: Music Instruction, Study, and Theory

The departmental music library in Bergendoff Hall also contains a number of scores available to music majors. Contact the Music Department at 309-794-7233 for more information about their collections.