Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 220: Comm and Social Relationships

Find books, articles, movies, and more.

Advanced Search

To find both print and electronic reference materials, use the Tredway Library (ALiCat+Articles) option from the drop down menu. This option allows you to search all of the Tredway Library's physical and electronic resources, books, eBooks, and electronic reference sources. 

You'll have several ways to filter your search in order to find reference materials. When you see your search results, there will be a "filter your results" column (typically on the left hand column, but may depend on the device you're using). 

Filter Your Results-->Resource Type-->Reference Entries

  These entries are from our online and print reference materials. 

OR

Filter your results-->Resource Type-->Books

   Books are available in two ways:

  • Available online: eBooks
  • Available at Thomas Tredway Library [floor and call number here]: If this is a reference book, it will be labeled as reference, and be located on the 2nd floor. 

To learn about more about which electronic reference databases are available, please look under the "Electronic Reference Materials" tab. For print materials, look under the "Print Reference Materials" tab. 

We have electronic reference materials which includes hundreds of credible and useful CSD materials. There materials are available 24/7, and you can access them from your room. 

Reference eBooks

To search for print reference materials, please refer back to the "Using Primo to Find Reference Materials" tab. 

Tredway Library uses the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification system to organize our physical collection. Consider searching in the following sections of our reference collection, located on the 2nd (main) floor of the library. Remember that the following call numbers are helpful for this subject area:

P 87-96: Communication, mass Media.

Important note: reference books can't leave the library! You may photocopy some pages that are helpful, but the physical material can't be checked out the way that circulating books can. If you need to access reference books while you're outside the library, our electronic reference tools are very helpful. 

Here are some examples of helpful print reference books:

Handbook of Interpersonal Communication
REF BF637 .C45 H287 2002

Handbook of Peer Interactions, Relationships, and Groups
REF BF723 .I646 H36 2011

Handbook of Communication and Social Interaction Skills
REF HM1111 .H36 2003

Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Family and Personal Relationships
REF HQ536 .T35 2010

Handbook of International and Intercultural Communication
REF P94.6 .H36 2002

Remember that reference books can't leave the library! You may photocopy some pages that are helpful, but the physical material can't be checked out the way that circulating books can.