LibGuides: FYI 102: Music & Identity (McKnight): Find Articles

Find Articles

Find Articles in Databases
Find Articles in OneSearch

These databases are all good sources of academic journal articles. (Academic Search Ultimate also has lots of newspaper and magazine articles, so limit your results to "peer-reviewed" to find academic sources there):

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 570 communication and mass media journals along with full-text to over 450 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It provides indexing to more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts as well as historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to the Humanities Collection which contains full-text coverage of journal articles on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.

Search these databases to find news articles from the U.S. and across the world:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues including 12,000 total sources with 300+ Illinois publications and 200 countries represented along with diverse news media such as trade journals, video, audio files, broadcast transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines, including the Atlanta Journal Constitution, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, the Denver Post, USA Today, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

Tredway Library Resources (ALiCat+Articles): This option searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

Everything (ALiCat+Articles+I-Share): This option searches across all books from Augustana and I-Share, plus articles from our databases.

Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the Primo search box above. You'll not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields where you can enter your search terms. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date.