LibGuides: Theatre Arts: Find Research Articles

Helpful Databases
Finding Articles in OneSearch

Below are listed some of the library's journal databases that may be of use to you for theater research. Some databases may be more appropriate for your topic than others; the majority are based in the humanities, so it's important to pay attention to the databases' descriptions to learn more about each database you can use. To see a full list of our databases, please look at our A-Z database list.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Drama Criticism This link opens in a new window
Presents full-text literary criticism on the works of dramatists of all nations, cultures, and time periods. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, reviews, radio transcripts, diaries, newspapers, broadsheets, pamphlets, and scholarly papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts as well as historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to the Humanities Collection which contains full-text coverage of journal articles on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and more.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos of definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with film documentaries.
All programming includes public performance rights.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

Everything (Library holdings + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases.
Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.
Tredway resources (Library holdings + Articles): This option searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the Primo search box above. You'll not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date.