LibGuides: Economics: Find Research Articles

Resources

Below are listed some of the library's resources that may be of use to you for your research. Some resources may be more appropriate for your topic than others, and some have more articles in Economics than others. Pay attention to the resources' descriptions; to see a full list of our resources, please look at our A-Z resources list.

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text coverage to over 1,000 of business, management, accounting, finance, and economics journals. More than 10,000 company profiles are included from Datamonitor.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present covering every area related to economics.
Our World in Data This link opens in a new window
A broad perspective, covering an extensive range of aspects that matter for our lives. Measuring economic growth is not enough. The research publications on Our World in Data are dedicated to a large range of global problems in health, education, violence, political power, human rights, war, poverty, inequality, energy, hunger, and humanity’s impact on the environment.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer visualizes and interacts with data, create maps, charts, reports. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics, industry information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 570 communication and mass media journals along with full-text to over 450 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.

Newspapers are great places to look to find information and learn different perspectives of different events. Included below are several very helpful newspaper databases; some are for current news, while others are historical newspapers. Look at the descriptions to find out the years covered.

LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
Now called Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
1. Access Nexis Uni through the Augustana College library website (choose “Databases A-Z” from the drop-down menu at the bottom).
2. Click Sign In / Register in the top right.
3. Click Create a profile now on the right.
4. Enter your name and your Augustana email address.
5. Complete the sign-in profile.
6. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
Keeping your access active: In order to keep access active, users are required to sign in from an on-campus computer or device every six months to maintain authorization.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Covers regional business news sources including newspapers and business trade magazines.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines, including the Atlanta Journal Constitution, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, the Denver Post, USA Today, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

Tredway resources (Library holdings +Articles): This option searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
Everything (Library holdings + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases.
Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the OneSearch search box above. You'll not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date.

Best Places to Live
This site includes cost of living information.
CNN Business
Up-to-date business news and stock market reports.
Doing Business in ...
Doing Business captures 294 regulatory reforms implemented between May 2018 and May 2019. Worldwide, 115 economies made it easier to do business
Economic Census
Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses that are essential to understanding the American economy.
Economic Indicators
Economic indicators include various indices, earnings reports, and economic summaries: for example, the unemployment rate, quits rate (quit rate in American English), housing starts, consumer price index (a measure for inflation), consumer leverage ratio, industrial production, bankruptcies, gross domestic product, etc.
NationMaker
A great resource for country comparisons and industry statistics across a huge range of topics.
Small Business Administration
Excellent source for all areas of creating a business plan and growing a business.
U.S. Department of State. Fact Sheets and Other Releases
This site includes information on several countries and their government, political conditions, and economy.
World Bank's DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Business Culture
World Business Culture provides both business people and students a wealth of targeted, high quality information which can improve their ability to develop a global career. This site includes Doing Business in over 30 countries.