Tredway Library has a growing collection of electronic reference materials available for you to use. Below are listed some of the electronic titles available to you through our subscriptions.
To locate encyclopedias and dictionaries in the library's 2nd-floor reference collection, you can search for resources in the library's collection from the search box on the library's homepage - or, you can browse according to call number.
Relevant call number sections for geology may include:
QE- Geology TC-TJ - Environmental Science
GE - Environmental Issues G - Geography
Selected Print Reference Titles:
An Introduction to Seismology, Earthquakes, and Earth Structure by
An Introduction to Seismology, Earthquakes and EarthStructures is an introduction to seismology and its role in theearth sciences, and is written for advanced undergraduate andbeginning graduate students. The fundamentals of seismic wave propagation are developed usinga physical approach and then applied to show how refraction,reflection, and teleseismic techniques are used to study thestructure and thus the composition and evolution of the earth. Thebook shows how seismic waves are used to study earthquakes and areintegrated with other data to investigate the plate tectonicprocesses that cause earthquakes. Figures, examples, problems, andcomputer exercises teach students about seismology in a creativeand intuitive manner. Necessary mathematical tools including vectorand tensor analysis, matrix algebra, Fourier analysis, statisticsof errors, signal processing, and data inversion are introducedwith many relevant examples. The text also addresses thefundamentals of seismometry and applications of seismology tosocietal issues. Special attention is paid to help studentsvisualize connections between different topics and view seismologyas an integrated science. An Introduction to Seismology, Earthquakes, and EarthStructure gives an excellent overview for students ofgeophysics and tectonics, and provides a strong foundation forfurther studies in seismology. Multidisciplinary examples throughout the text - catering tostudents in varied disciplines (geology, mineralogy, petrology,physics, etc.). Most up to date book on the market - includes recent seismicevents such as the 1999 Earthquakes in Turkey, Greece, andTaiwan). Chapter outlines - each chapter begins with an outline and alist of learning objectives to help students focus and study. Essential math review - an entire section reviews the essentialmath needed to understand seismology. This can be covered in classor left to students to review as needed. End of chapter problem sets - homework problems that cover thematerial presented in the chapter. Solutions to all odd numberedproblem sets are listed in the back so that students can tracktheir progress. Extensive References - classic references and more currentreferences are listed at the end of each chapter. A set of instructor's resources containing downloadable versionsof all the figures in the book, errata and answers to homeworkproblems is available at:http://levee.wustl.edu/seismology/book/. Also available on thiswebsite are PowerPoint lecture slides corresponding to the first 5chapters of the book.
Glossary of Geology by
This indispensable reference tool contains nearly 40,000 entries, including 3,600 new terms and nearly 13,000 entries with revised definitions from the previous edition.
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by
This is a complete and authoritative reference text on an evolving field. Over 200 international scientists have written over 340 separate topics on different aspects of geochemistry including organics, trace elements, isotopes, high and low temperature geochemistry, and ore deposits, to name just a few.
Fundamentals of Structural Geology by
Fundamentals of Structural Geology provides a new framework for the investigation of geological structures by integrating field mapping and mechanical analysis. Assuming a basic knowledge of physical geology, introductory calculus and physics, it emphasizes the observational data, modern mapping technology, principles of continuum mechanics, and the mathematical and computational skills, necessary to quantitatively map, describe, model, and explain deformation in Earth's lithosphere. By starting from the fundamental conservation laws of mass and momentum, the constitutive laws of material behavior, and the kinematic relationships for strain and rate of deformation, the authors demonstrate the relevance of solid and fluid mechanics to structural geology. This book offers a modern quantitative approach to structural geology for advanced students and researchers in structural geology and tectonics. It is supported by a website hosting images from the book, additional colour images, student exercises and MATLAB scripts. Solutions to the exercises are available to instructors.