LibGuides: Computer Science: Library Databases + Collections

Databases of Interest

Library Databases

Choosing a Library Database to Explore

Research related to this field can be found in a wide variety of databases the library subscribes to. Included on this page are just a selection of the library databases that may be of interest for your research projects. All of these databases are included in the OneSearch feature on the library's website.

To help you select the database(s) that will be the most useful to you, read the brief descriptions provided below the links included on this page. These descriptions should help give a general overview of the types of materials included within that collection.

For a full list of the databases the library subscribes to, visit: https://library.augustana.edu/az.php.

Recommended Databases

ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from Elsevier. To focus on our subscribed journals, be sure to identify the type of resource wanted, eg. research or review article.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields
To access Web of Science from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
To do this, follow these steps:
1. Access Web of Science by going to the Augustana College library website. (For example, on the “Databases A-Z” page.)
2. Click Sign In along the top navigation.
3. Click Register to create a new account. (You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that you don’t already have an account.)
4. Fill in the User Registration page.
5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
Keeping your access active:
• In order to keep their access active, users are required to sign in to their account from an IP authenticated (on-campus) computer or device every six months to verify that they are an authorized user.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great starting point for every subject. What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals and primary sources in multiple disciplines.

Find Resources with Interlibrary Loan

Submit or view an Interlibrary Loan request

If you are unable to locate resources for your research from either the local or I-Share catalogs, you also have the option to request items through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL enables access and delivery of materials held by other libraries around the world. This service is free of charge to students, faculty, and staff of the College. It is not available to non-Augustana users.

There are three ways to request materials from other libraries:

Use the request form directly on ILLIAD.
Use the ILLiad request button within OneSearch to request materials.
Search for and request the item from WorldCat to borrow materials from libraries around the world.

Once a request is received, library staff members will search for the item and attempt to obtain it from another library. Articles and book chapters are delivered to your email as a PDF within 24-48 hours. Physical items (books, DVDs, scores, etc.) typically take 5-10 business days (does not include weekends) to arrive from the lending library.

For more information about ILL, call 309-794-7585.