LibGuides: COMM 210: The Art of Fundraising: Articles and Databases

Find Research Articles

Helpful Databases
Finding Articles in OneSearch

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text coverage to over 1,000 of business, management, accounting, finance, and economics journals. More than 10,000 company profiles are included from Datamonitor.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 570 communication and mass media journals along with full-text to over 450 journals.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present covering every area related to economics.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of sexual diversity issues containing more than 921,000 records spanning from 1972 to the present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
1. Access Nexis Uni through the Augustana College library website (choose “Databases A-Z” from the drop-down menu at the bottom).
2. Click Sign In / Register in the top right.
3. Click Create a profile now on the right.
4. Enter your name and your Augustana email address.
5. Complete the sign-in profile.
6. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
From off-campus, USE THIS LINK to access Nexis Uni (scroll down to find "Nexis Uni" on the landing page).
Keeping your access active: In order to keep access active, users are required to sign in from an on-campus computer or device every six months to maintain authorization.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics, industry information.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

Tredway resources (Library holdings + Articles): This option searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
Everything (Library holdings + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases.
Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the OneSearch box above. You'll not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date.

Sample Subject Searches:

Altruism, Philanthropy, Intergenerational Transfers (D64)
Business Ethics
Charitable Contributions
Charities
Corporate Culture, Diversity, Social Responsibility (M14)
Crowdfunding
Donation
Donors
Endowments
Foundations - Economics
Fundraising
Fund raising -- Illinois
Contains multiple institutionally relevant records held in Special Collections.
Non-profit
Nonprofit Institutions, NGOs, Social Entrepreneurship (L31)
Nonprofit Organizations
Nonprofit Organizations & Charities
Nonprofit Organizations - Marketing
Philanthropy