The Swenson Center has many collections related to Augustana College History. Here are a few:
I/O:1 Jenny Lind Chapel (Andover, Ill.) records
This collection includes some of the earliest records of the Jenny Lind Chapel of Andover, Illinois, including minutes recorded by Lars Paul Esbjörn and others. Also includes an alphabetical index to church membership of the 1850s and communion records from 1859-1861. Collection contains architectural drawings of both the Jenny Lind Chapel and Augustana Lutheran Church in Andover, Illinois. One Jenny Lind Chapel architectural drawing by A. Wintram Inn of 113 3rd Avenue (town not indicated).
I/O:5 Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Synod Collection
The collection includes a variety of congratulatory letters and greetings for the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Synod Anniversaries of 1910 and 1935, correspondence, addresses, sermons, reports, press releases, printed matters from the annual Synod meeting in Galesburg, Illinois in 1916 and other miscellaneous letters addressed to the synod.
I/O:8 Jenny Lind Chapel Committee (Andover. Ill.) records
The Jenny Lind Chapel is the "mother church" of the Augustana Synod and of Swedish-American Lutheranism. In 1849, Pastor Lars Paul Esbjörn and 146 followers left from Sweden bound for the United States. Many died along the way. After arriving in Andover, Esbjörn and a group of 10 charter members started the congregation in 1850. Esbjörn later became the first president of Augustana College.
I/O:23 Augustana Book Concern (Rock Island, Ill.) photographs
The collection consists of photographs of Augustana Institutions: Orphan's Homes, Old People Homes, Hospitals, Educational Institutions, Augustana Book Concern, Immigrant Homes, Immanuel Woman's Home, Chicago Inner Missions, Bethpage Mission, and other Augustana affiliated buildings.
I/O:64 Augustana Evang. Lutheran Church of Elkhart, Indiana building collection
This collection contains 5 glass slides and 13 printing plates surrounding the plans, construction, and funding campaign of the new building of the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church in Elkhart, Indiana. The Augustana Book Concern produced these plates and slides in May of 1954 and shipped them to Rev. Holm. Also included in the collection is the Augustana Book Concern mailing label sticker addressed to Rev. Holm, stamp from this mailing, and note to Rev. Holm.
I/O:69 Collection of Swedish American Sheet Music
This collection contains sheet music and scores of predominantly Swedish-language songs and music published in the United States. Many of these scores are attributed to Swedish immigrants and members of Swedish immigrant communities in the Midwest, who composed the music or arranged preexisting Swedish hymns and folk songs for Swedish American worship, performance, and entertainment. Approximately one-third of the collection was published and printed by the Augustana Book Concern in Rock Island, Illinois.
MSS P:1 Eric Norelius papers
The collection contains letters received by Eric Norelius (1833-1916) from the years 1851 to 1916 when he served as Augustana Synod President and as pastor in various pioneer churches in Minnesota. The letters are mostly from other pastors and leaders active in the Augustana Synod. Norelius was one of the founders of the Augustana Synod and he served as its president between 1870-1881 and 1901-1910. Norelius was born in Sweden and immigrated to the United States in 1850. He went to Andover, Illinois where L. P. Esbjörn received him. He was ordained by the Northern Illinois Synod in 1855 and served in Indiana and Minnesota. He was active in the publishing field including as editor for the Swedish American newspaper Hemlandet.
MSS P:2 Erland Carlsson papers
The collection includes personal memorabilia, biographical material, clippings, papers, correspondence and books, relating to Dr. Carlsson's professional life as a pastor in the Swedish Lutheran Church in Chicago and Andover, and as President for the Augustana Synod. His personal papers are filed with the correspondence and include student records from Lund University, ordination papers, and biographical notes. A small group of the early letters (1853-1857) were translated and published by Augustana Historical Society in 1935. The letters were translated by E.W. Olson, Augustana College faculty member. G. Westin also used four letters from the collection and published them in his work "Emigranterna och kyrkan."
MSS P:10 Birger Swenson papers
The collection includes material from Swenson's career at the Augustana Book Concern in Rock Island, Illinois, autobiographical material and an extensive slide collection from the Swensons' travels around the world. Swenson's professional papers include Annual Reports from the Augustana Book Concern in Rock Island, Illinois 1928-1962, minutes from the Augustana Book Concern board meetings 1943-1962.There is also an extensive letter collection received by Swenson at the Augustana Book Concern. It is organized in alphabetical order by last name and cover the years 1945-1962.Other material from ABC include, clippings relating to the press and its publications. The bulk of the personal papers contain material gathered after Swenson's retirement in 1962.
MSS P:342 Collection of Augustana Synod letters
This collection contains letters relating to the founding and early history of the Augustana Synod. Letters are written to, from, and mentioning various persons including Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church presidents Tuve Hasselquist (1860-1870), Eric Norelius (1874-1881 & 1899-1911), Erland Carlsson (1881-1888), and S. P. A. Lindahl (1888-1891).
Collections of Augustana Lutheran Church Clergy and affiliates: