The majority of the Swenson Center’s archival materials pertaining to Swedish Canadians is in the form of microfilmed church records. We have about 70 collections of these from different churches in different provinces of Canada! See for example:
C-21 Emmanuel Lutheran Church (Assiniboia, Sask.) records
Founded: 1913 in Saskatchewan, Canada. The collection includes:
C-23 Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church (Meeting Creek, Alta.) records
Founded: 1906 in Alberta, Canada. The collection includes:
C-27 Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church (Edmonton, Alta.) records
First Swedish Lutheran Church (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) was active between 1914-1923.
The collection includes: Church member records from 1929-1951, 144 pages, records of ministerial acts (such as baptism, confirmation, weddings, funerals, etc.) from Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church (Edmonton, Alta.) and First Swedish Lutheran Church (Edmonton, Alta.) from 1929-1960, 53 pages.
C-60 Hilltop Baptist Church (Erickson, Man.) records
Founded: 1896 in Erikson, Manitoba, Canada. Collection contains:
PNW-64 Augustana Lutheran Church (Vancouver, B.C.) records
Collection contains: Minutes (Swedish, and some English after 1923) from 1911-1940, 421 pages, and records of ministerial acts (such as baptism, confirmation, weddings, funerals, etc.) from 1920-1926, 201 pages.
SA-150 Swedish-Canadian Rest Home (Vancouver, BC) records
The organization was founded in 1945. The collection consists of minutes from 1945-1951 (125 pages).
MSS P:161 ph 8
A photograph of a woman holding a baby. The woman is sitting in a wicker rocking chair on a porch. The back of the photograph states, "3 weeks old. In Canada - Lundeen - Betty Lou and her momma 3 weeks old born in Winnipeg, Canada - July 23 - 1923". The caption states, "Betty Lou Lundeen born July 23, 1923 Winnipeg, Canada".