Skip to Main Content

GEOG 123 Introduction to Urban Studies (Strunk) - Special Collections Guide

Items Viewed in Class

During your class visits, you encountered a variety of materials containing information about your topics that you are investigating for your assignment.  The materials were pulled from each of the main sections of Special Collections: our book collection, our manuscript collections, our vertical files, and our photograph collection.  Additionally, some tables included sample articles from the Augustana Observer, printed from the digital copies in our Observer/Rockety-I database.  All of the materials viewed during class are listed below.  Please refer to this list if you need to request an item to view in the reading room, or if you need identification information for citation purposes.

Items Viewed During Class

Manuscripts

  • Interview transcriptions, Box 1, MSS 295: “Last One Out of the Quad Cities, Turn Out the Lights” radio drama collection
  • Agriculture implement companies, Box 30-32, MSS 385: Local History Collection

Vertical files

  •  International Harvester Co. (Farmall Plant)

Postcards

  • John Deere and Co., Moline Buildings and Businesses, Box 7, MSS 385: Local History Collection

Book Collections

  • My Moline : a young illegal immigrant dreams by John Cervantes, Mississippi Valley F549.M7 C47 1986

Manuscripts 

  • Transcripts, Box 5, MSS 291: Latino Leadership in the Quad Cities
  •  Emigration materials, Box 1, MSS 134: Emil Alfred Swanson papers
  • Voces/ Nuestras Voces, Box 13,  MSS 385: Local History collection

Vertical files

  •  Swedish immigration
  • Hero Street

Printed Resources from the Iowa Women's Archives

Additional content regarding Mexican migrations can be found in the Migration is Beautiful curated site,. 

Manuscripts

  • Edward Killbourn papers, Box 1, MSS 100: Collection of early merchants’ papers 
  •  MSS 37-images: John H. Hauberg glass plate images

Publications

  • Black Hawk, J. B. Patterson, and Antoine LeClair. Life of Black Hawk : Ma-Ka-Tai-Me-She-Kia-Kiak. Mississippi Valley, E83.83 .B633 1833
  • Annual Indian Pow-Wow : Ceremonial Dances by Members of the Sauk and Fox Tribes. Rock Island, Ill: Indian Pow-wow Council. Mississippi Valley, E98.P86 I53

Vertical Files

  • Indian Boundary Line (1816 - 1821)
  •  Indians of North America in the Quad-Cities
  • Sac and Fox Indians
  • Sauk Indians

 

Vertical files

  • Rock Island – Downtown area, 
  • Moline -- Downtown area
  • Davenport – Downtown area
  • Sylvan Island

Manuscript Collections

  • Postcards (Downtown) Rock Island and Moline, Box 7 and 8, MSS 385: Local History Collection
  • Renaissance Rock Island Strategic Plan, 1991, Box 22, MSS 385: Local History Collection
  • Annual reports and Rock Island publications, Box 20-22, MSS 385: Local History Collection
  • Walking tours of Rock Island downtown, Box 42, MSS 385: Local History Collection

Publications

Vertical Files

  • Tri-city Railway Company
  • Transportation – Quad Cities
  • East Moline, IL – Bike trail
  • Rock Island, IL – Bike Paths

Manuscript Collection

  • James Ratcliff collection of railroad photographs and clippings, Box 1, MSS 304a
  • Maps: Rock Island, Box 16, MSS 385: Local History Collection
  • Walking and driving tour guides, Box 42, MSS 385: Local History Collection

Publications

 

Vertical Files

  • Quad Cities - Homeless and Homeless Shelters
  • Dorothy Day Catholic Worker House
  • Project NOW
  • Salvation Army of the Quad Cities
  • Christian Family Care Center (Rock Island, IL)
  • Vera French Homes
  • West End Settlement
  • Arsenal Courts 

Manuscript Collections
Architectural projects, Box 1,  MSS 77: Olof Z. Cervin papers

Publications

Articles selected from the Digital Archives of the Moline Public Library and the Observer database

 

Vertical Files

  • Public works of Art
  • Augustana – Art – Sculpture, outdoor
  • Quad Cities Arts
  • Quad Cities Arts – 1990/1991 season
  • Quad City Arts Council 
  • Augustana College - Disability Services
  • Illinois - Parks
  • Bettendorf, Iowa - Parks
  • Rock Island - Parks
  • Davenport, Ia. - Parks
  • Moline, Ill. - Parks

Publications