"Beginning at its inception in 1977, the Office of the Gender and Women’s Studies Librarian has curated this series of bibliographies. The bibliographies have been prepared by librarians, women’s studies faculty members, graduate students in library and information studies, staff members of the Gender and Women’s Studies Librarian’s Office, and others." Note: not all materials listed in a particular bibliography may have open accessibility.
The Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Commons is a subset of the Digital Commons Network, which "provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide."
The Open Textbook Library, as part of the Open Education Network, shares textbooks that "are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution."
This collection is dedicated to textbooks from the cross-disciplinary field of Gender and Sexuality Studies.
Created and maintained by the University of Wisconsin System's Office of the Gender and Women's Studies Librarian, the Women's Knowledge Digital Library "is an online repository of information by and about women and girls. The goal of the project is to provide users with trusted information that is easily and efficiently accessible and that which can be used in the education and empowerment of women and girls worldwide. Our focus is to amplify women's voices and include resources that women can learn from and adapt to suit the work being done within their own communities."
Grassroots Feminism is an organization that explores how "girls and young women are capable cultural producers who create a wide variety of their own films, music, media, and festivals" and preserves "the cultural spaces girls and young women create." This links to zines created by women and girls that have been digitized by the organization.
The London College of Communication (LCC) Zine Collection is an online database of zines housed in repositories throughout the United Kingdom that were digitized to "ensure that the LCC Zine Collection remained in some way accessible during the pandemic." Among the collections are a feminist collection and an LGBTQ+ collection.
"The Library of Congress has a growing collection of zines. The Zine Web Archive was created to supplement the physical zine collection. In general, zines are: self-published, self-created, self-distributed, and non-commercial. The independent nature of these publications allows for an unprecedented freedom of expression, and as such, these materials are incredibly valuable primary source materials. Collection priorities include zines by people of color, women, immigrants, and LGBTQ+ and transgender and gender non-conforming individuals and organizations. Subjects and perspectives which have been traditionally underrepresented in mainstream media (and therefore libraries) are also a high priority for collection."
The Queer Zine Archive Project aims "to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."
"The Riot Grrrl Collection documents the evolution of the Riot Grrrl movement, particularly in the years between 1989 and 1996," with a focus on "the personal archives of those involved in the creation of early Riot Grrrl zines, music, and activism."
"The CWLU Herstory Website Project was organized to archive and share the history of the Chicago Women's Liberation Union. Using the Internet to tell the history of women's liberation from the ground up, the Chicago Womens Liberation Union (CWLU) Herstory Project documents the role of the CWLU in the movement for women's liberation and social justice of the late 1960s and 1970s."
The Equality Archive, "built with Open Source technology and the principles of Fair Use," is home to peer-reviewed articles and materials sharing "the history of sex and gender equality in the United States."
"FemTechNet is an activated network of hundreds of scholars, students, and artists who work on, with, and at the borders of technology, science, and feminism in a variety of fields including Science and Technology Studies (STS), Media and Visual Studies, Art, Women’s, Queer, and Ethnic Studies."
Their website shares "many resources for learning more about feminism, cyberfeminism, and feminist theories of technology, including videos with major scholars and subject matter experts, reading lists and bibliographies, projects to do with classmates or undertake on your own as a do-it-yourselfer, and syllabi from past and present FemTechNet classes," as well as a white paper and manifesto for guidance.
The Kinsey Institute is one of "the premier research institute[s] on human sexuality and relationships." This resource provides research conducted by and with the Kinsey Institute as well as the Institute's archival collections.
NWSA is a professional organization that aims to promote "the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings."