The Special Collections division includes several collections available to researchers regarding women's, gender, and sexuality studies materials, as well as LGBTQ+ communities, that may be of interest. For additional resources beyond what is shared here, explore the Special Collections webpage, visit in person, or reach out via email at email@example.com.
Special Collections consists of over 400 collections. Each collection can range from one small box to over 100 boxes. The majority of the manuscript collections are related to either Augustana history, local history, or both. Use ArchivesSpace to search across the finding aids or collections.
Augustana College Department of Women’s and Gender Studies records: Includes ephemera, correspondence, and papers collected by the Women’s and Gender Studies Department. Founded in 1985, the program uses an interdisciplinary approach that incorporates the offerings of many different departments at the College— English, History, Political Science, Religion, and Sociology— to explore issues of gender, power, and sexuality.
National Organization for Women (Quad Cities Chapter) records: The Quad Cities chapter of the National Organization for Women (QC NOW) began in August 1970 with a few women who organized a teach-in on women's rights. The teach-in was well attended, and a small group of the women began holding regular meetings at the Omega House in Rock Island. The collection includes content regarding the local chapter, as well as the state, regional, and national NOW organizations.
Women -- Societies and clubs: 25 collections within the Special Collections that are categorized under the subject heading "Women -- Societies and clubs."
Women college students -- Illinois: 27 collections within the Special Collections that are categorized under the subject heading "Women college students -- Illinois."