The document below includes a full list of the books utilized during the class session. The list is organized by century, and then alphabetically by title.
Many of the books we looked at in class have been digitized and made available online by various libraries across the country. The list also includes links to digital copies, where available. Bear in mind that cookbooks were often printed multiple times and in multiple editions that may be slightly different even if they have the same title and author. Pay close attention to the publication dates and edition numbers when looking for digital surrogates for the books you viewed in class.
Special Collections has a number of cookbooks and domesticity guides containing recipes dating from the 17th century to the 21st century. Most of these items fall within the Library of Congress call number range TX700-TX720. Most of the cookbooks are from the Rare Book collection or the Mississippi Valley collection.
The books in Special Collections are cataloged just like materials in the rest of the library. You can search by title, author, or keyword in the library catalog from the library’s webpage and use the location limiter to narrow down your results to just show items that are in Special Collections.
There are also some cookbooks and other food history-related materials located in our manuscript collections (a.k.a. archives) that we did not look at today. For example, we have a number of cookbooks produced by local churches in our Local history collection (MSS 385). If you are interested in learning more about these and other materials in our manuscript collections, please consult the Special Collections Librarian.