Skip to Main Content

Speech Language Pathology

Resource guide for SLP grad program.

Journal Articles

Below are some of the journals most relevant to your research in Speech Language Pathology. You can also search for other specific journals using our Journal Search.

To see our full list of database resources, please refer to our A-Z resources list. You can narrow down the selection by selecting "Subject Type." 

In some databases like PsycArticles and PsycINFO, there are a few advanced search features not available when using the multi-database OneSearch interface. For example, you can select specialized filters to do things like:

  • Search by methodology:

  • Or search by data type:

Find books, articles, movies, and more.

Advanced Search

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, journals, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

  • ​Tredway resources (Library holdings + Articles): This is the default option which searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources). This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
  • Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.
  • Everything (Library holdings + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases. 

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the OneSearch box above. You will not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date. 

Submit or view an Interlibrary Loan request

If you are unable to locate resources for your research from either the local or I-Share catalogs, you also have the option to request items through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL enables access and delivery of materials held by other libraries around the world. This service is free of charge to students, faculty, and staff of the College. It is not available to non-Augustana users. 

There are three ways to request materials from other libraries:

  • Use the request form directly on ILLIAD.
  • Use the ILLiad request button within OneSearch to request materials. 
  • Search for and request the item from WorldCat to borrow materials from libraries around the world.

Once a request is received, library staff members will search for the item and attempt to obtain it from another library. Articles and book chapters are delivered to your email as a PDF within 24-48 hours. Physical items (books, DVDs, scores, etc.) typically take 5-10 business days (does not include weekends) to arrive from the lending library.

For more information about ILL, call 309-794-7585.

Saving Your Articles and Permalinks

Finding your research is one thing, saving it reliably is another.  Most databases have nice and clear options for downloading the articles you find directly, for sending them to your Google Drive, or for emailing them to yourself.

Another option is to save the article's Permalink or DOI (Digital Object Identifier).  Below is a screenshot showing how to find the Permalink option in the Academic Search Complete database rather than copying the URL from the browser.  The interface may be different in other databases, but there will usually be an option for a permalink, sometimes called a "Get Link" or a "Stable URL."

Never copy the URL directly from the address bar to save your research -- this will work in some rare cases, but more often when using databases the URL in your browser's address bar will be what is known as a "session link" based on your current search session.  Session links expire and will not allow you to access the resource again in the future.

Trust me on this, I see someone lose their research every semester because of this!