LibGuides: Physics, Engineering, and Astronomy: Library Databases + Collections

Library Databases + Collections

Databases from Tredway Library
Other Helpful Resources

SciFinder Scholar (for first time users only) This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*First-time users use this link on campus first to register and set up an account.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Access to chemistry and related science information
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Full coverage of several multiple discipline journals
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Citations to academic related publications
*To access Web of Science from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
To do this, follow these steps:
1. Access Web of Science by going to the Augustana College library website. (For example, on the “A-Z Resources” page.)
2. Click Sign In along the top navigation.
3. Click Register to create a new account. (You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that you don’t already have an account.)
4. Fill in the User Registration page.
5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
Keeping your access active:
• In order to keep their access active, users are required to sign in to their account from an IP authenticated (on-campus) computer or device every six months to verify that they are an authorized user.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Full-text to academic journals and primary sources in multiple disciplines
PubMed This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other resources

Below are listed some additional resources that may be of use in your research. Some databases may be more appropriate for your topic than others, so pay attention to the databases' descriptions and be sure to search in a variety of resources, both on this page and in the library's other collections.

ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)
The ASCE Library is the world’s largest of civil engineering research and practical publications, allowing users to find more than 200,000 technical and professional papers. More than 5,000 papers are added annually.
DOE (Department of Energy) Data Explorer
DOE Data Explorer (DDE) is the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) search tool for finding DOE-funded, publicly available, scientific data records submitted by data centers, repositories, and other organizations funded by the Department.

The data themselves reside at national laboratories, data centers, user facilities, colleges and universities, or other websites.
National Technical Reports Library
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers online, free and open access to these authenticated government technical reports. Technical reports and documents in its repository may be available online for free either from the issuing federal agency, the U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Federal Digital System website, or through search engines.