LibGuides: HIST 350: Modern China in a Century of Revolution (Lawrence): Find Secondary Sources

Find Secondary Sources

Find Articles
Find Books

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
References western-language articles and book chapters published since 1971 pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It provides indexing to more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find books, you have several options:

Tredway Resources: Our catalog includes physical items found on the shelves in the Tredway Library, as well as electronic items like eBooks and videos. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

All I-Share Libraries: This searches for physical books and media from other academic libraries across Illinois. Many of these items can be requested for delivery to Tredway Library through a service called I-Share (eBooks, with some exceptions, are normally not available to request due to licensing restrictions).

Tutorials: "Finding the Full-Text of an Article" and "Getting Started with Interlibrary Loan"

Not every article you find will be immediately available in full-text. But you can still obtain the full-text for your research! In the brief videos below, librarian Anne Earel demonstrates how to:

find the full-text of an article using Augustana's full-text resources

and, if Augustana doesn't have the article you need,

order an article from another library using interlibrary loan

**Note** that the database Anne uses in these videos may be different than what you are using for your own research. But the principles for searching Augustana's resources for a full-text article, and for ordering through interlibrary loan, are the same!