LibGuides: COMM 220: Comm and Social Relationships: Find Articles

Relevant Resources

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 570 communication and mass media journals along with full-text to over 450 journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of sexual diversity issues containing more than 921,000 records spanning from 1972 to the present.

Historical New York Times (1851-2017) This link opens in a new window
The historical New York Times offers full text and image coverage of the newspaper from 1851 to 2017. For access to more recent New York Times articles, go to US Newsstream.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive) spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Offers multiple perspectives on the 20th century’s key issues and events
Newsday (1940-1962) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
NewspaperArchive This link opens in a new window
The NewspaperArchive World Collection includes:
• 16,100+ newspapers and publications
• 290+ million pages (and constantly growing)
• 3 billion+ photos and articles
• Over 9 billion names
• 413 years of newspapers: 1607 - Today
• Content from 48 countries
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 40+ US and international newspapers
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines, including the Atlanta Journal Constitution, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, the Denver Post, USA Today, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage from 1980 to the present.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
1. Access Nexis Uni through the Augustana College library website (choose “Databases A-Z” from the drop-down menu at the bottom).
2. Click Sign In / Register in the top right.
3. Click Create a profile now on the right.
4. Enter your name and your Augustana email address.
5. Complete the sign-in profile.
6. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
From off-campus, USE THIS LINK to access Nexis Uni (scroll down to find "Nexis Uni" on the landing page).
Keeping your access active: In order to keep access active, users are required to sign in from an on-campus computer or device every six months to maintain authorization.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

Tredway Library resources (Local + Articles): This is the default option which searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources). This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.
Everything (Local + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases, as well as books available to us through the I-Share service.

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the OneSearch box above. You will not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date.