LibGuides: World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Resources: Find Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Electronic Resources

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A vast collection of electronic reference books covering a wide variety of subject areas, Gale Virtual Reference Library is an excellent place to start your research.
Credo Reference
This is an online reference library that provides unlimited and remote simultaneous access to current, integrated, full-text content from a selection of over 200 reference books from 55 publishers with over 2 million entries. Credo includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from health to technology and science to law, not to mention the Bridgeman Art Library with over 16,000 art images.

Multiple Languages

WordReference
WordReference is one of the most-used online resources for bilingual dictionaries and language tools. Among others, WordReference has resources for French, Spanish, Italian, German, Swedish, Chinese, and Japanese language learning.
Collins Dictionary
"Collins online dictionary and reference resources draw on the wealth of reliable and authoritative information about language ... both in English and in other languages."

Collins provides tools for English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Hindi, Chinese, and Korean.

French

TLFi
TLFi is a French dictionary of the 19th and 20th centuries collecting over 100,000 words alongside their histories.
Outil de consultation du Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française
This is the official dictionary tool of the Academy of French.
Dictionnaire Electronique des Synonymes (DES)
DES is a French synonym dictionary.

Chinese

Japanese

Marugoto-no-kotoba
Marugoto-no-kotoba is the dictionary companion website for the Marugoto+ website.
Jisho
"Jisho is a powerful Japanese-English dictionary. It lets you find words, kanji, example sentences and more quickly and easily."

German

PONS Online Dictionary
PONS is an online German-English dictionary that also includes conjugation help and a vocabulary trainer.
DWB
DWB is an online version of the German dictionary created by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm (also known as the brothers Grimm, authors of Grimms' Fairy Tales).
Beolingus
Beolingus is an online German dictionary managed by the University of Technology - Chemnitz.

Swedish

Lexin Online Dictionary
The Lexin Dictionary is a robust Swedish language dictionary published by the Swedish Language Council that is intended to help immigrants translate into their native languages.
The People's Dictionary
The People's Dictionary is a free Swedish-English dictionary that invites public contributions to translation efforts.
Swedish Academy Dictionary
The Swedish Academy Dictionary is comparable to the Oxford English Dictionary in that it provides both a standard definition and a lexical records of the term's development.