LibGuides: Chemistry: Library Databases + Collections

Library Databases + Collections

Main Chemistry Databases
Other Science Databases

Not all databases are created equal when it comes to chemistry research. Included on this page are two of the primary databases used within the field of Chemistry for research - the journals of the American Chemical Society (ACS) and SciFinder Scholar. We recommend that you begin with these databases, before moving on to the other science databases available to you.

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals published by American Chemical Society. Use this resource to find high quality articles in chemistry and related fields.
This resource is limited to on campus use except specific Chemistry professors and students.

SciFinder Scholar (for first time users only) This link opens in a new window
If you are a first-time user, use this link on campus first to register and set up an account.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides access to chemistry and related science information.

Below are listed some additional journal databases that may broadly be of use to you for chemistry research. Some databases may be more appropriate for your topic than others, so pay attention to the databases' descriptions and be sure to search in a variety of resources, both on this page and in the library's other collections.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields
To access Web of Science from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
To do this, follow these steps:
1. Access Web of Science by going to the Augustana College library website. (For example, on the “Databases A-Z” page.)
2. Click Sign In along the top navigation.
3. Click Register to create a new account. (You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that you don’t already have an account.)
4. Fill in the User Registration page.
5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
Keeping your access active:
• In order to keep their access active, users are required to sign in to their account from an IP authenticated (on-campus) computer or device every six months to verify that they are an authorized user.

ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from Elsevier. To focus on our subscribed journals , be sure to identify the type of resource wanted, eg. research or review article.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
Patient drug information in English and Spanish published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing coverage for thousands of journals from the fields of nursing and allied health plus full-text access to more than 770 journals.

Medline This link opens in a new window
Medline indexes over 19,000 journals published internationally and includes over 15 million records covering all aspects of medicine, dentistry, and nursing. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, Medline includes citations from 1950 to present.