Use reference sources to get background information about the main topics in your research question, and to get an idea of which kinds of scholars are also thinking about the same question. This will help you figure out what databases might be useful to try!
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books covering art, biographies, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology.
To search for print reference materials using OneSearch, please refer to the "Using OneSearch to Find Reference Materials" tab.
Tredway Library uses the Library of Congress (LoC) Classification system to organize our physical collection. Consider searching in the following section of our reference collection, located on the 2nd (main) floor of the library::
Remember that reference books can't leave the library! You may photocopy some pages that are helpful, but the physical material can't be checked out the way that circulating books can. If you need to access reference information while you're outside the library, our electronic reference tools are very helpful.
To find both print and electronic reference materials, use the "Tredway resources (Library holdings + Articles)" option from the drop down menu. This option allows you to search all of the Tredway Library's physical and electronic resources, books, eBooks, and electronic reference sources.
You'll have several ways to filter your search in order to find reference materials. When you see your search results, there will be a "filter your results" column on the left side of your screen.
Filter Your Results --> Resource Type --> Reference Entries
These entries are from our online and print reference materials.
OR
Filter your results --> Resource Type --> Books
Books will be shown as "available" in two ways:
To learn about more about which electronic reference databases are available, please look under the "Electronic Reference Materials" tab. For print materials, look under the "Print Reference Materials" tab.