LibGuides: Environmental Studies: Library Databases + Collections

Databases of Interest

Library Databases
Data Sources

Choosing a Library Database to Explore

Environmental Studies is a highly interdisciplinary field, and research related to this field can be found in a wide variety of databases the library subscribes to. Included on this page are just a selection of the library databases that may be of interest for your research projects. All of these databases are included in the OneSearch feature on the library's website.

To help you select the database(s) that will be the most useful to you, read the brief descriptions provided below the links included on this page. These descriptions should help give a general overview of the types of materials included within that collection.

For a full list of the databases the library subscribes to, visit: https://library.augustana.edu/az.php.

Recommended Databases

GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and environmental studies. Contains nearly 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 plus full text for more than 920 journals.

Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
Brings together multimedia materials (text, archival, primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more.

ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from Elsevier. To focus on our subscribed journals , be sure to identify the type of resource wanted, eg. research or review article.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive research platform. Journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, Open Access material—all can be accessed through one interface, using a variety of powerful search and analysis tools. Web of Science Core Collection is a painstakingly selected, actively curated database of the journals that researchers themselves have judged to be the most important and useful in their fields
To access Web of Science from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
To do this, follow these steps:
1. Access Web of Science by going to the Augustana College library website. (For example, on the “Databases A-Z” page.)
2. Click Sign In along the top navigation.
3. Click Register to create a new account. (You will be asked to enter your email address to verify that you don’t already have an account.)
4. Fill in the User Registration page.
5. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
Keeping your access active:
• In order to keep their access active, users are required to sign in to their account from an IP authenticated (on-campus) computer or device every six months to verify that they are an authorized user.

Finding Data Sources

The library subscribes to several databases that broadly contain data that may be relevant to research in Environmental Studies. Additionally, there are a variety of external sources that may also contain useful data for your research as well. Be sure to always think critically about where the data is coming from and whether or not the sources is reliable.

Library Databases

Our World in Data This link opens in a new window
A broad perspective, covering an extensive range of aspects that matter for our lives. Measuring economic growth is not enough. The research publications on Our World in Data are dedicated to a large range of global problems in health, education, violence, political power, human rights, war, poverty, inequality, energy, hunger, and humanity’s impact on the environment.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer visualizes and interacts with data, create maps, charts, reports. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics, industry information.

External Data Sources

National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) hosts and provides public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth. We provide over 37 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data.

Data Sharing Resources - NIH
BMIC has maintained a list of NIH-supported data repositories at this site for the last several years. In an effort to provide this information more effectively and comprehensively, the list has been reorganized and a list of generalist repositories has been added as indicated below.

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data)
Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions. re3data promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry has gone live in autumn 2012 and has been funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).