Tredway Library's has a growing collection of electronic reference materials, the full list of which may be found here. Below are listed just a selection of the electronic reference items available for you to use in your research.
Keywords for Environmental Studies by
Keywords for Environmental Studies analyzes the central terms and debates currently structuring the most exciting research in and across environmental studies, including the environmental humanities, environmental social sciences, sustainability sciences, and the sciences of nature.
American Environmental Leaders by
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.
The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History by
This unique collection of Primary Documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, climate change, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.
Environmental History and Global Change: A Dictionary of Environmental History by
An introduction to the discipline is followed by almost 1,000 entries covering key terminology, events, places, dates, topics, as well as the major personalities in the history of the discipline.
Additional Reference Sources:
What's included?
*Full access to reference books covering multiple subject areas
What's included?
*Comprehensive resource related to all bird species
What's included?
*Access to data on a large range of global problems in health, education, violence, political power, human rights, war, poverty, inequality, energy, hunger, and humanity’s impact on the environment
Tredway Library's print reference collection is located on the 2nd floor of the library and is home to a variety of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other relevant resources for conducting background information on your research topic. Below are listed just a selection of the print reference items available for you to use in your research.
The Little Green Data Book 2017 by
The Little Green Data Book 2017 is based on World Development Indicators 2017 and its online database. Defining, gathering, and disseminating international statistics is a collective effort of many people and organizations. The indicators presented in World Development Indicators are the fruit of decades of work at many levels, from the field workers who administer censuses and household surveys to the committees and working parties of the national and international statistical agencies that develop the nomenclature, classifications, and standards fundamental to the international statistical system. Nongovernmental organizations have also made important contributions. We are indebted to the World Development Indicators partners, as detailed in World Development Indicators 2017 .
Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2017 by
The World Bank's compilation of statistics from over 200 economies is built around World Development Indicators (WDI) - selected indicators have been identified and visualized to analyze trends and challenges, and to catalyze discussion on measurement issues. The Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2017 uses maps, charts and analysis to illustrate, trends, challenges and measurement issues related to each of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Given the breadth and scope of the SDGs, the editors have been selective, emphasizing issues considered important by experts in the World Bank's Global Practices and Cross Cutting Solution Areas. Nevertheless, The Atlas aims to reflect the breadth of the Goals themselves and presents national and regional trends and snapshots of progress towards the UN's seventeen Sustainable Development Goals: poverty, hunger, health, education, gender, water, energy, jobs, infrastructure, inequalities, cities, consumption, climate, oceans, the environment, peace, institutions, and partnerships. Between 1990 and 2013, nearly one billion people were raised out of extreme poverty. Its elimination is now a realistic prospect, although this will require both sustained growth and reduced inequality. Even then, gender inequalities continue to hold back human potential
Global Environment Outlook Geo 5: Environment for the Future We Want by
This global assessment warns that the world continues to speed down an unsustainable path despite over 500 internationally agreed goals and objectives to support the sustainable management of the environment and improve human wellbeing. The fifth edition of the Global Environmental Outlook (GEO-5), launched on the eve of the Rio+20 Summit, assessed 90 of the most-important environmental goals and objectives and found that significant progress had only been made in four. These are eliminating the production and use of substances that deplete the ozone layer, removal of lead from fuel, increasing access to improved water supplies and boosting research to reduce pollution of the marine environment. Some progress was shown in 40 goals, including the expansion of protected areas such as National Parks and efforts to reduce deforestation. Little or no progress was detected for 24 - including climate change, fish stocks, and desertification and drought. Further deterioration was posted for eight goals including the state of the world's coral reefs while no assessment was made of 14 other goals due to a lack of data. The report cautions that if humanity does not urgently change its ways, several critical thresholds may be exceeded, beyond which abrupt and generally irreversible changes to the life-support functions of the planet could occur. Yet meeting an ambitious set of sustainability targets by the middle of the century is possible if current policies and strategies are changed and strengthened. Rio+20 provides an opportunity to assess achievements and shortcomings, and stimulate transformative global responses.
Environmental Literacy from a to Z for Students and Educators by
Whether you're a student or an educator, you've probably experienced the doom from looking at a blank page. You've titled your research paper, lesson, or lecture-whatever it may be-but you find yourself asking the proverbial question, "Where do I begin?" Luckily, when it comes to environmental studies, you will never face that question again. In his twentieth-anniversary edition of this encyclopedia, H. Steven Dashefsky hands readers the tools for diving straight into a project. All it takes is choosing one topic or term and letting the text take you by the hand and guide you through a series of cross-referenced entries, until you realize your essay outline has written itself-or that your lecture is now chock full of talking points. The guide's content covers many timely issues, including social media, toxicity in common household items, and health-related issues. The overall experience is like a conversation, as each entry carries a casual, accessible tone that spurs ideas and doesn't assume prior scientific knowledge. This updated edition is a must-have for libraries, instructors wanting to develop cross-discipline curriculums, and anyone else with a desire to stay informed about our planet's environment.