The Swenson Center has many collections related to Swedish American publication and publishing houses. Here are a few:
I/O:9 Gösta Nyblom Publishing House (Rock Island, Ill.) records
The records include drafts of chapters for the book "Americans of Swedish Descent" edited by Gösta Nyblom (Rock Island, IL: 1948).
I/O:62 Augustana Book Concern publications
The collection consists of a handwritten notebook which contains shelf lists of publications located and published by the Augustana Concern in Rock Island, Illinois. The titles are organized into many categories, and include some directories for other Swedish American publication houses as well.
I/O:69 Collection of Swedish American Sheet Music
This collection contains sheet music and scores of predominantly Swedish-language songs and music published in the United States. Many of these scores are attributed to Swedish immigrants and members of Swedish immigrant communities in the Midwest, who composed the music or arranged preexisting Swedish hymns and folk songs for Swedish American worship, performance, and entertainment. Approximately one-third of the collection was published and printed by the Augustana Book Concern in Rock Island, Illinois, and the rest is predominantly by other Swedish American publishers.
MSS P:10 Birger Swenson papers
The collection includes material from Swenson's career at the Augustana Book Concern in Rock Island, Illinois, autobiographical material and an extensive slide collection from the Swensons' travels around the world. Swenson's professional papers include Annual Reports from the Augustana Book Concern in Rock Island, Illinois 1928-1962, minutes from the Augustana Book Concern board meetings 1943-1962.There is also an extensive letter collection received by Swenson at the Augustana Book Concern.
MSS P:12 Ernst Wilhelm Olson papers
The collection reflects Olson's interest in religion and his professional life in the publishing business and includes his own articles and writings, notebooks, letters and newspaper clippings. Olson's writings contain lectures and speeches he gave, articles on a wide variety of topics, hymns, poems, and published copies of music, newspaper clippings, and scrapbooks.
MSS P:70 Andrew G. Anderson diaries
The papers include two diaries kept by Andrew G. Anderson when traveling in Sweden on behalf of the Augustana Book Concern from July to September 1909. His entries detail his travels in cities such as Stockholm and Gothenburg, and his visits to booksellers, churches, libraries, and publishing houses for texts, music, and art.
MSS P:283 Gustaf Adolph Magnusson photograph collection
The collection contains photos from the Augustana Book Concern in Rock Island, Illinois. Included are historical photos of both the exterior and interior of the building spanning from the early 1900s to the early 1960s. There are also photos of employees within the various work environments and the Board of Directors. There are also photos from the pressroom with workers. A number of the photographs were published in A Ministry of Printing. History of Publication House of the Augustana Lutheran Church 1889-1962, by Daniel Nystrom (Augustana Press, R.I., Ill.).
SC-165 Augustana Book Concern (Rock Island, Il.) records
The collection consists of minutes from 1870-1872, 37 pages; yearly reports from 1917-1918, 18 pages; book cataloges from years 1873, 1876, 1894 and 1912. The minutes are from meetings held by Augustana Book Concern predecessor, Svenska Lutherska Tryckföreningen.