OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. Though our local physical collections are not very robust on this subject, we do have access to a wide variety of eBook collections (here is an example search that may be useful), and the I-Share service will be an excellent source for academic books covering a range of topics in the digital game industry. Be aware that J-Term is short and if you want to use I-Share materials, it can take a few days for I-Share books to be sent to our library, so get started with your research early.
tldr; to find books, you have several options:
ALiCat Only: ALiCat stands for Augustana Library Catalog. Our catalog includes physical items found on the shelves in the Tredway Library, as well as electronic items like eBooks and videos. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
All I-Share Libraries: This searches for physical books and media from other academic libraries across Illinois. Many of these items can be requested for delivery to Tredway Library through a service called I-Share (eBooks, with some exceptions, are normally not available to request due to licensing restrictions).
Tredway Library Resources (ALiCat+Articles): This searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
When conducting research, you will use our library search, OneSearch. This research guide will walk you through steps on how to best use OneSearch for your research purposes. Before we delve into how to locate the library's resources using OneSearch, it is recommended that you sign in.
Although it is not required that you sign in with OneSearch, it is recommended that you do for several reasons:
To sign in, you simply need to use your Augustana network ID and password. When you are on your computer, you can locate the sign in option in the upper right-hand corner. You may also click on the "Menu" option, and then click on "Library Card."