LibGuides: HIST 300: Historical Research (Special Collections): Items Viewed During Class

Items Viewed During Class

During your first visit, you encountered a variety of materials from the main sections of Special Collections: the manuscript collections, the vertical files, and the book collections. All of the materials viewed during class are listed below. Please refer to this list if you need to request an item to view in the reading room, or if you need identification information for citation purposes.

To guide your analysis for future materials, utilize questions like those found in the primary source analysis worksheet or the archival silences worksheet.

Items Viewed on February 18
Items Viewed on February 25

Manuscript Collections

MSS 86 Sister Ingeborg Nystul papers, Box 1
MSS 7 John Thomas Tredway papers, Box 3
MSS 7 John Thomas Tredway papers, Box 10
MSS 182 Friendship Fair collection, Box 1
MSS 144 Ross Paulson papers, Box 15
MSS 362 Augustana PRISM records, Box 1
MSS 67 Buildings and Grounds records, Box 8
MSS 67 Buildings and Grounds records, Box 3

Vertical Files

Brown, Marcellus
Brown, Carol J.
Augustana College – Casa Latina
Augustana College – Ladies of Vial Essence
Augustana College – Lighthouse
Augustana College – Old Main
Augustana College – Black Student Union- Events – 1970s

Books/ Publications

Selected articles from the Observer newspaper
Cervantes, John. My Moline. Mississippi Valley F549.M7 C47 1986
The Augustana Foreign Missionary Society Annual Report. Rock Island, Ill: Augustana College and Theological Seminary, 1918. Augustana Institutions BV2050 .A91
Deloria, Vine. Custer Died for Your Sins : An Indian Manifesto. Rare Books 970.1 D384

Manuscript Collections

MSS 86 Sister Ingeborg Nystul papers, Box 2 and Box 3
MSS 7 Thomas Tredway papers, Box 3 and Box 10
MSS 247 Augustana Foreign Missionary Society records, Box 5
MSS 417 Ladies of Vital Essence (LOVE) records, Box 1
MSS 182 Augustana College Friendship Fair records, Box 1 and Box 2
MSS 144 Ross Paulson papers, Box 15

Vertical Files

Augustana College – BSU- Events – 1970s
Augustana College – Casa Latina
Augustana College – Ladies of Vital Essence
Deloria, Vine
Sampson, William

Books/ Publications

Deloria, Vine. Custer Died for Your Sins : An Indian Manifesto. Rare Books 970.1 D384

Photograph Collections

C-S00370: Majestic Gents, 1992.
C-S01792: Majestic Gents, 2000.
C-S00399: Majestic Gents, circa 1990s.
C-S00404: Casa Latina, circa 1990s.
C-S01184: Casa Latina , 1999.
C-S00368: Ladies of Vital Essence, circa 1990s.
C-S00369: Ladies of Vital Essence, circa 1990s.
C-F03636: Sit-in in President C. W. Sorensen's outer office, 1972.
C-F03637: Sit-in in President C. W. Sorensen's outer office, 1972.
C-F04361: Vine Deloria, Jr. delivers 1971 address, 1971.
C-F04362: Hon. Doctors Vine Deloria Jr., Harry E. Nelson, and Leroy E. Lijedahl pose for photos, 1971.
C-F04374: Vine Deloria, Jr., American Indian spokesman,1971.