HIST 300: Historical Research (Special Collections)

You can search the collections for additional content related to your chosen topic. Once you have decided on a collection or item, be sure to email specialcollections@augustana.edu with the following details. You may also visit us at the front desk during open hours (Mon-Thurs, 1-5 pm)  to request your items or ask us questions. 

Please try to email us by the end of the day on  Monday, March 3. 

For manuscript collections: Use ArchivesSpace to search across the finding aids. Provide the following to Special Collections. 

• Collection title and number
• Box numbers (limit to 2 boxes)
• Example: John Hauberg papers (MSS 27) Boxes 44-4

For books and publications: Use the OneSearch catalog to search for items by subject, author, title, or keyword.  Locate the following for your request. 

• Publication title and author
• Call number 
• Example: My Moline by John Cervantes - Mississippi Valley; F549.M7 C47 1986

For vertical files: Search our growing list of vertical files for people, organizations, events, or other subjects. Pass along the folder title for your request. 

• Full title of folder
• Example: Augustana College - Homecoming - 2020's

For photographs: For photographs, contact Special Collections for a photograph request. Alternatively, check our Flickr page for Augustana-related photographs. 

• Photo ID # and description
• Example: C-D00221: Early design of Old Main, 1884

Check out resources in the digital collections for additional content.