LibGuides: COMM 230: Politics, Citizenship, and Communication (Dr. Burgchardt): Library Databases & Resources

Relevant Resources

American Periodical Series This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century chronicling the development of America across 150 years.
Historical New York Times (1851-2017) This link opens in a new window
The historical New York Times offers full text and image coverage of the newspaper from 1851 to 2017. For access to more recent New York Times articles, go to US Newsstream.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive) spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Offers multiple perspectives on the 20th century’s key issues and events
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues including 12,000 total sources with 300+ Illinois publications and 200 countries represented along with diverse news media such as trade journals, video, audio files, broadcast transcripts.
Newsday (1940-1962) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
NewspaperArchive This link opens in a new window
The NewspaperArchive World Collection includes:
• 16,100+ newspapers and publications
• 290+ million pages (and constantly growing)
• 3 billion+ photos and articles
• Over 9 billion names
• 413 years of newspapers: 1607 - Today
• Content from 48 countries
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 40+ US and international newspapers
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
1. Access Nexis Uni through the Augustana College library website (choose “Databases A-Z” from the drop-down menu at the bottom).
2. Click Sign In / Register in the top right.
3. Click Create a profile now on the right.
4. Enter your name and your Augustana email address.
5. Complete the sign-in profile.
6. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
From off-campus, USE THIS LINK to access Nexis Uni (scroll down to find "Nexis Uni" on the landing page).
Keeping your access active: In order to keep access active, users are required to sign in from an on-campus computer or device every six months to maintain authorization.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines, including the Atlanta Journal Constitution, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, the Denver Post, USA Today, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and the Christian Science Monitor. Coverage from 1980 to the present.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text coverage to over 1,000 of business, management, accounting, finance, and economics journals. More than 10,000 company profiles are included from Datamonitor.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 570 communication and mass media journals along with full-text to over 450 journals.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers social issues, offering topic overviews, pro/con viewpoints, statistical information, newspaper coverage, and multimedia selections.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
An extensive full-text collection and index to political science literature including online full-text for 500+ academic journals in political science and related fields. It also provides coverage to topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues and non-governmental organizations. The focus is worldwide, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse.

Tredway Databases A-Z
Complete list of Tredway databases. Depending on your chosen genre of reporting, you may want to filter by subject to see resources specific to your area.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find books and articles, you have several options:

Tredway resources (Library holdings + Articles): This is the default option which searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources). This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
Everything (Library holdings + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases, as well as books available to us through the I-Share service.
All I-Share Libraries: This option searches all resources available from the I-Share network of libraries across Illinois. This option is great for getting books. To request I-Share materials, you will need to be logged in using your regular Augustana credentials. Items usually arrive in 3-5 days after submitting a request.
Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.

Find Resources with Interlibrary Loan

Submit or view an Interlibrary Loan request

If you are unable to locate resources for your research from either the local or I-Share catalogs, you also have the option to request items through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL enables access and delivery of materials held by other libraries around the world. This service is free of charge to students, faculty, and staff of the College. It is not available to non-Augustana users.

There are three ways to request materials from other libraries:

Use the request form directly on ILLIAD.
Use the ILLiad request button within OneSearch to request materials.
Search for and request the item from WorldCat to borrow materials from libraries around the world.

Once a request is received, library staff members will search for the item and attempt to obtain it from another library. Articles and book chapters are delivered to your email as a PDF within 24-48 hours. Physical items (books, DVDs, scores, etc.) typically take 5-10 business days (does not include weekends) to arrive from the lending library.

For more information about ILL, call 309-794-7585.