FYI/FYH - Goss-Peirce

Thomas Tredway Library is located in the Gerber Center for Student Life and occupies the first 4 floors of the building. Each floor of the library serves a different purpose, so read carefully through each description to learn more about what you'll find. Our collection materials are arranged by the Library of Congress call number system (also described in our handy LC Blue Sheet); materials available for check out are primarily located on the first and third floors. 

The library hours are listed here.

Library Floors At A Glance

1st Floor (lower level):

• Designated quiet floor (please keep conversations quiet and brief)
• Special Collections and Technical Services (home to Interlibrary Loan services)
• Quiet study room
• Couches and comfortable seating available
• Condensed book shelving for Library of Congress call numbers H-Z (including the subjects of literature, languages, music, technology, medicine, library science, and more) as well as our children's book, map, microform, and music score collections

2nd Floor (main level):

• Designated social floor for quiet conversation and group study
• Research Help Desk, Circulation Desk, librarian offices, library instruction class spaces
• Group study rooms, computers, and printers available
• Home to the print reference collection, leisure reading collection, self-care collection, current magazines collection, zine collection, graphic novels, puzzles and games (available for checkout), and course reserves, as well as laptops and other loanable technology
• Rotating exhibits, displays, and activities, including our Makerspace activities and Lego collections
• Two gender-inclusive restrooms

Study rooms can be reserved in-person at the Circulation Desk or online here; we highly recommend reserving a room in advance. At the start of your reservation, check in at the Circulation Desk to receive the key to the study room; remember to return the key at the end of your reservation!

3rd Floor:

• Designated quiet floor (please keep conversations quiet and brief)
• Many tables, carrels, and seats available for quiet study
• Individual and small group study rooms, computer lab (with designated computer for the visually impaired), and printer available
• Book shelving for Library of Congress call numbers A-G (including the subjects of religion, history, social sciences, and more)

Study rooms can be reserved in-person at the Circulation Desk or online here; we highly recommend reserving a room in advance. At the start of your reservation, check in at the Circulation Desk to receive the key to the study room; remember to return the key at the end of your reservation!

4th Floor:

• Hybrid floor, sharing space with the Office of Student Inclusion and Diversity, the Office of International Student and Scholar Services, the Reading/Writing Center, the Office of Student Life and Leadership, and the Brew coffee shop
• Quiet conversation and group study permitted
• Classroom computer lab with printer ("the fishbowl")