LibGuides: German: Find Articles

Article Databases from Tredway Library

For journal articles, book chapters, and/or reviews:

Many of the databases below contain material in German and other languages. On the advanced search screen, or in your results list, look for an option to limit by language and select your preferred language(s).

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Bibliography of resources covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Citations to resources related to world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Full-text to academic journals and primary sources in multiple disciplines
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Full access to the Humanities Collection
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Citations and full-text to resources relating to multiple subject areas

Elecktronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek
The Elecktronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek is a platform to access scholarly journals; this links to the collection of German, Dutch, and Scandinavian Studies journals.
ETHzürich E-Periodica
E-Periodica is an online database of Swiss journals maintained by the ETH Library.

For international news articles:

Nexis Uni and NewsBank index articles from news organizations--English- and non-English-language--across the globe. For Nexis Uni, in addition to a keyword search, try the "Country Info" option under "Guided Search." For NewsBank, try a heading under the "International Studies" button or the "Map Search" feature. Results can be limited by language, geography, and publication in which the article appeared.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
What's included?
*Full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources
*Company Dossier containing company information
*Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789 to the present
**To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.

NewsBank
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues including 12,000 total sources with 300+ Illinois publications and 200 countries represented along with diverse news media such as trade journals, video, audio files, broadcast transcripts.
Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB)
"In the ZDB, you will find serial titles, newspapers, databases, yearbooks etc., in short, everything that was and is being published periodically in printed or electronic form and that is available in German and Austrian institutions. On the European level access to digitized newspapers will be constantly expanded." The database is also available in English.