LibGuides: SCAN 240: Fairy Tales &amp; Folklore (Dr. Henry): Find Books/eBooks

OneSearch

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find books, you have several options:

ALiCat Only: ALiCat stands for Augustana Library Catalog. Our catalog includes physical items found on the shelves in the Tredway Library, as well as electronic items like eBooks and videos. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

All I-Share Libraries: This searches for physical books and media from other academic libraries across Illinois. Many of these items can be requested for delivery to Tredway Library through a service called I-Share (eBooks, with some exceptions, are normally not available to request due to licensing restrictions).

Tredway Library Resources (ALiCat+Articles): This searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

Some useful titles may include (but are not limited to):

Works by HC Andersen

By the Fire by Emilie Demant Hatt; Barbara Sjoholm (Translator)
ISBN: 9781517904579
Publication Date: 2019
The first English publication of Sami folktales from Scandinavia collected and illustrated in the early twentieth century.
The Cambridge Companion to Fairy Tales by Maria Tatar (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
Fairy tales have never known geographical, disciplinary or cultural borders. In many ways, they provide a model for thinking about storytelling on a transnational level long before comparative literature began transforming itself into world literature. As the simple expression of complex thought, fairy tales have increasingly become the focus of intense scholarly inquiry. In this Companion, international scholars from a range of academic disciplines explore the historical origins, cultural dissemination and psychological power of fairy stories, and offer model interpretations of tales from a variety of traditions and sources, including Charles Perrault, the Brothers Grimm and the One Thousand and One Nights. Rather than disenchanting the stories, the essays in this volume broaden our understanding of them and deepen our appreciation of the cultural work they do. A chronology and guide to further reading contribute to the usefulness of the volume for students and scholars.
Theory and History of Folklore by Vladimir Propp
ISBN: 0816611823
Publication Date: 1984
Nordic Folklore by Reimund Kvideland (Editor); Henning K. Sehmsdorf (Editor); Elizabeth Simpson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253205216
Publication Date: 1990
The articles in this collection not only reflect areas in which Nordic folklore studies have been particularly strong, but also demonstrate recent changes in theoretical paradigms and empirical application.
Grimm Legacies: The Magic Spell of the Grimms' Folk and Fairy Tales by Jack Zipes
ISBN: 1400852587
Publication Date: 2014
In Grimm Legacies, Jack Zipes explores the legacy of the Brothers Grimm in Europe and North America, from the nineteenth century to the present. Zipes reveals how the Grimms came to play a pivotal and unusual role in the evolution of Western folklore and in the history of the most significant cultural genre in the world--the fairy tale. Folklorists Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm sought to discover and preserve a rich abundance of stories emanating from an oral tradition, and encouraged friends, colleagues, and strangers to gather and share these tales. Zipes looks at the transformation of the Grimms' tales into children's literature, the Americanization of the tales, the "Grimm" aspects of contemporary tales, and the tales' utopian impulses. He shows that the Grimms were not the first scholars to turn their attention to folk tales, but were vital in expanding readership and setting the high standards for folk-tale collecting that continue through the current era. Zipes concludes with a look at contemporary adaptations of the tales and raises questions about authenticity, target audience, and consumerism.
Fairy Tale as Myth, Myth as Fairy Tale by Jack Zipes
ISBN: 9780813108346
Publication Date: 1994
In this lively work, Jack Zipes explores the historical rise of the literary fairy tale as genre in the late seventeenth century and examines the ideological relationship of classic fairy tales to domination and oppression in Western society.
Fairy Tales and Society by Ruth B. Bottigheimer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780812280210
Publication Date: 1987
This collection of exemplary essays by internationally recognized scholars examines the fairy tale from historical, folkloristic, literary, and psychoanalytical points of view. For generations of children and adults, fairy tales have encapsulated social values, often through the use of fixed characters and situations, to a far greater extent than any other oral or literary form. In many societies, fairy tales function as a paradigm both for understanding society and for developing individual behavior and personality. A few of the topics covered in this volume: oral narration in contemporary society; madness and cure in the 1001 Nights; the female voice in folklore and fairy tale; change in narrative form; tests, tasks, and trials in the Grimms' fairy tales; and folklorists as agents of nationalism.
From the Beast to the Blonde by Marina Warner
ISBN: 9780374524876
Publication Date: 1996
In this landmark study of the history and meaning of fairy tales, the celebrated cultural critic Marina Warner looks at storytelling in art and legend-from the prophesying enchantress who lures men to a false paradise, to jolly Mother Goose with her masqueraders in the real world. Why are storytellers so often women, and how does that affect the status of fairy tales? Are they a source of wisdom or a misleading temptation to indulge in romancing?
The Meaning of Folklore by Alan Dundes; Simon J. Bronner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780874216844
Publication Date: 2007
The essays of Alan Dundes virtually created the meaning of folklore as an American academic discipline. Yet many of them went quickly out of print after their initial publication in far-flung journals. Brought together for the first time in this volume compiled and edited by Simon Bronner, the selection surveys Dundes's major ideas and emphases, and is introduced by Bronner with a thorough analysis of Dundes's long career, his interpretations, and his inestimable contribution to folklore studies. Runner-up, the Wayland Hand Award for Folklore and History, 2009

Useful Electronic Browsing Tips

As you do your research, there are three parts of an item's record in the library catalog that might be of special use: the subjects (which help you find other materials related by subject), the description (which gives a basic summary), and the contents (which can help you identify which chapters of a book might be most useful for you to focus on). Of course, some records will have more details than others, but it's always worth a look!

SCAN 240: Fairy Tales & Folklore (Dr. Henry)

Useful Subject Terms

Try it out!

OneSearch

Useful Electronic Browsing Tips