Below are a few best bet databases for getting started with research on fairy tales and folklore. Make sure to read the resource's description in order to learn about the content you can find in each resource. These resources contain both scholarly (typically from academic journals) and popular articles (found in newspapers, magazines, non-scholarly journal publications), so you'll need to pay attention to what type of information you're looking at. See here for more information about the Peer-Review process.
To see our full list of resources, please refer to our A-Z resources list. You can narrow down the selection by selecting "Subject Type."
What's included?
*Citations and full-text to resources relating to multiple subject areas
What's included?
*Full access to the Humanities Collection
What's included?
*Bibliography of resources covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts
OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, journals, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:
Everything (ALiCat+Articles+I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases.
Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.
Tredway Library Resources (ALiCat+Articles): This option searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources). This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
WorldCat: This option searches across libraries worldwide. If you cannot find what you need at our library or another I-Share library, you can search in Worldcat and place a request using our Interlibrary Loan service (ILL).
Advanced Search
To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the OneSearch box above. You'll not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date.
Finding your research is one thing, saving it reliably is another. Most databases have nice and clear options for downloading the articles you find directly, for sending them to your Google Drive, or for emailing them to yourself.
Another option is to save the article's Permalink or DOI (Digital Object Identifier). Below is a screenshot showing how to find the Permalink option in the Academic Search Complete database rather than copying the URL from the browser. The interface may be different in other databases, but there will usually be an option for a permalink, sometimes called a "Get Link" or a "Stable URL."
Never copy the URL directly from the address bar to save your research -- this will work in some rare cases, but more often when using databases the URL in your browser's address bar will be what is known as a "session link" based on your current search session. Session links expire and will not allow you to access the resource again in the future.
Trust me on this, I see someone lose their research every semester because of this!
