LibGuides: COMM 381: Social Science Theory in Communication (Boone): Library Databases / Finding Articles

Relevant Resources

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

Tredway Library resources (Local + Articles): This is the default option which searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources). This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.

Everything (Local + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases, as well as books available to us through the I-Share service.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. You can search for primary source research by document type.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research on the history of the United States and Canada.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 570 communication and mass media journals along with full-text to over 450 journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to education literature and research dating back to 1966.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of sexual diversity issues containing more than 921,000 records spanning from 1972 to the present.
PRISMA This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Institute of the University of California, Los Angeles. Coverage 1966 to present.
Linked with the HAPI Index
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics, industry information.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Submit or view an interlibrary loan request

Interlibrary loan (ILL) enables access and delivery of materials held by other libraries around the world. This service is free of charge to students, faculty, and staff of the College. It is not available to non-Augustana users. If you encounter an article or book that looks perfect for your research but it is behind a paywall, DO NOT purchase anything, use ILL instead.

There are three ways to request materials from other libraries:

Use the request form directly on ILLIAD.
Use the ILLiad request button within Primo to request materials.
Search for and request the item from WorldCat to borrow materials from libraries around the world.

Once a request is received, library staff members will search for the item and attempt to obtain it from another library. Articles and book chapters are delivered to your email as a PDF within 24-48 hours. Physical items (books, DVDs, scores, etc.) typically take 5-10 business days (does not include weekends) to arrive from the lending library. Patron transaction records will be archived for three years.

For more information about interlibrary loan, call 309-794-7585.

Adding Database Filters

In many databases, you will have a number of options to filter your results. When possible, I recommend filtering for full text (to make sure you get the full article rather than just a citation), peer-reviewed (when you need scholarly sources, this filter saves you a lot of time), and by date (to make sure you are getting the most up-to-date research). The following screenshot shows what these filters might look like in Academic Search Complete or other Ebsco databases:

And in OneSearch: