LibGuides: COMM 381: Social Science Theory in Communication (Boone): Tests and Measurements

Overview

Tests and measurements are typically used for research and assessment. They can be surveys, questionnaires, scales, and other instruments that measure outcomes.

There are several ways to identify test instruments to measure behaviors and personality traits appropriate for the social sciences. You may wish to browse the contents of books containing test instruments; you may also wish to search the literature of your field to identify tests that have been used.

Reviews of tests are available through the Mental Measurements Yearbook (see below). If there isn't a review of the test you're looking for, search for the name of the test in subject-specific library databases or Google Scholar to find the article it was originally published in. Though the full text of all articles may not be available in Google Scholar, you can use citations found to then request the materials via Interlibrary Loan.

Places to Start

From the library catalog:

The Mental Measurements Yearbook
The Mental Measurements Yearbook is one of the oldest sources for finding reviews and information about tests. Tredway Library has editions from 2010-2014. More editions may be found through I-Share.
Measurement Instruments for the Social Sciences (MISS)
MISS is an interdisciplinary scholarly journal for the social sciences. The journal publishes high-quality, open access measurement instruments intended for scientific use across various disciplines (e.g., sociology, psychology, education, political science, economics etc.) or as adaptations in local cultural contexts. Though focusing mainly on social surveys for the general population, instruments may also be relevant for the study of individual differences and useful in specific diagnostic contexts of relevance to the general population. MISS advances social science measurement and methodology also through systematic reviews, test reviews, meeting reports, and best practice approaches related to specific tools and measurement in general. MISS expects empirical backing up of scientific claims, predominantly by a quantitative approach.

Tests in Print IX by Kurt F. Geisinger (Editor); Buros Buros Center; Nancy A. Anderson (Editor); Jennifer E. Schlueter (Editor); Janet F. Carlson (Editor)
Call Number: LB2367 .B848 2016
ISBN: 9780910674652
Publication Date: 2016
Provides a comprehensive index of commercially available educational and psychological tests in English-speaking countries.
Handbook of Research Methods by Natalie L. Sproull
Call Number: Q180.55.M4 S67 2002
ISBN: 9780810844865
Publication Date: 2002
A ready reference and text designed for researchers, managers, and administrators who make research-based decisions, as well as students of the social sciences and business. The entire research process, from variables to final report, is covered step by step. New in this edition is a chapter overview of multivariate techniques. Special features include a glossary of 248 research terms, a summary of fourteen types of instruments with examples, a research proposal checklist, flow charts for selecting appropriate statistical tests, and a flow chart for the entire research process, with alternatives at each decision point. With every major concept are its definition, purpose, advantages, disadvantages, process, and an example. Readers are alerted to possible problems and cautioned.
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement by Delbert C. Miller (Editor); Neil J. Salkind (Editor)
Call Number: Request via I-Share
ISBN: 9780761920458
Publication Date: 2002
Covers how to design research, collect data, analyze statistics, and report results. Describes tests and scales related to social measurement (e.g. sociometric, psychometric, demographic, etc.), and refers to research studies which used the instruments. Contains information to help social scientists publish books or articles, including lists of major sources of funding and guides to journals in sociology and other social sciences. New sections include guides to applied and evaluative research and a bibliography of computer resources.

From the web:

Finding Information About Psychological Tests
From the American Psychological Association.
Test Reviews Online
Includes descriptive information on more than 3,500 commercially available tests, and more than 2,800 of them have reviews available for purchase. Do not purchase reviews! If you find a review that is only available through a paywall, you can request these resources through Interlibrary Loan.
Assessment Literacy
Another resource from the Buros Center for Testing. Provides instructional and educational resources that improve the ability of individuals to select, develop, and use tests and assessments in accordance with relevant standards and guidelines for responsible test use.
Test Collection at ETS
A database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from U.S. publishers, individual test authors and non-U.S. sources.
Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences (MIDSS)
An open access repository of shareable assessment instruments used to collect data from across the social sciences. From the Whitaker Institute at University of Galway.
Measures Library
A resource for researchers looking for psychometric tools for use in social connection research. The library is organized into measures that map on to the constructs of awareness, courage, and love, as well as general measures of social connection and other psychological phenomena that are important in social connection research. From the University of Washington Center for the Science of Social Connection.
Statistical Resources
This list of statistical resources from Washington University in Saint Louis includes a massive amount of publicly available data that may be relevant to social sciences research.
GSS - General Social Survey
The GSS is a personal interview survey and collects information on a wide range of demographic characteristics of respondents and their parents.
Pew Research Center Surveys Question Search
Use this tool to search the Pew database of polling questions.

Sample Searches

Many databases have means of searching for information about specific tests & measures. A few of these examples are included below.

For PsycInfo, you might:

Type the "name of a test" or keywords about a test in the first box.
Type append in a second box and select TM Tests & Measures from the drop down menu.

For ERIC, you might:

Type the "name of the test" or keywords about a test or measure in the first box.
Select tests/questionnaires from the Document Type selection box.

For Sociological Abstracts, you might:

Type the "name of the test" or keywords about a test or measure in the first box.
Select a relevant document type from the Document Type selection box.

For other databases like OneSearch, you might:

Type the "name of the test" or keywords about a test or measure in the first box.
Type some combination of the following terms in the second box: test* OR measur* OR survey* OR questionnaire* OR scale* OR batter* OR checklist* OR instrument* OR pretest* OR posttest* OR assess* OR interview* OR inventor* OR rating* OR tool* OR data*

Using the boolean operator "OR" will get you more results as you will get results for any of the terms entered, and the asterisk (*) will allow you to search for any words that start with your query (for example, measur* would return results for measure, measures, measurement, measurements, and measuring).