Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology

A subject page for biology courses at Augustana College

Below are listed some of the library's journal databases that may be of use to you for biological research. Some databases may be more appropriate for your topic than others, so pay attention to the databases' descriptions and be sure to search in a variety of resources, both on this page and in the library's other collections. 

Below are listed some of the library's journal databases that may be of use to you for biological research related to health and medicine. Some databases may be more appropriate for your topic than others, so pay attention to the databases' descriptions and be sure to search in a variety of resources, both on this page and in the library's other collections. 

Resources for Microbiology

All of the resources on this page may be accessed under the Databases A-Z tab on the library homepage. 
 


Where to Start: 

 

As you begin to investigate news sources, keep the following in mind: 


Consider why the publication was written. This will inform how you use it in your research. Was it written...
For scientific purposes? To purely report an observed phenomenon?
For sensationalism? For entertainment?
To capitalize on fear?
To teach prevention strategies?
To reassure a panicked public?
To push an agenda?

 

Consider what the form and purpose of the writing tell you. 
What does it say about public discourse surrounding the topic? How is it being talked about?
What does it show of public perceptions, or possibly misconceptions, surrounding the issue?
What impact does the issue have on daily life and individual behavior?
What views of the future do the authors offer? What are they forecasting the impact(s) of the issue will be?
How does the perception at the time of writing stand up against what we know now?