Included in this tab are a list of websites that may be of interest to you as you conduct your research. It is organized into biological resources that are not health related, and biological resources that are.
Biology Resources, Not Health Related
- Darwin Digital Library of Evolution
Sponsored by the American Museum of Natural History Library, its goal is "to make the full literature of evolution available online from the 17th century to the present."
- NECI Research Index
This is a scientific literature digital library that aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of scientific literature, and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness.
- The Tree of Life
One of the early Web projects on biodiversity and phylogeny, the Tree of Life project's goal is to provide "information about the evolutionary history and characteristics of all organisms."
Biology Resources, Health Related
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC is the place to find current, reliable information on diseases. It provides full text of the MMWR and searchable access to other CDC publications. The CDC Wonder site at http://wonder.cdc.gov provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data. Also consult the National Center for Health Statistics for statistical reports on health related issues at http://www.cdc.gov/nchs.
- EMedicine
Provides the largest and most current free clinical information for physicians and health care providers. Its evidence based content makes it an excellent resource to use in conjunction with research articles in PubMed and subscription databases.
- Medline Plus
MedLine Plus provides consumer health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine, written in layperson's language. This is a terrific starting point for your research and it provides links to in-depth articles and clinical trials.
- Pan American Health Organization
The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is the world’s oldest international public health agency. It provides technical cooperation and mobilizes partnerships to improve health and quality of life in the countries of the Americas. Together with WHO, PAHO is a member of the United Nations system.
- PandemicFlu.gov
One stop access point for avian and pandemic flu information with links off their research activities page to very current research articles.
- Search Medica
You can find the latest, most authoritative medical information by using SearchMedica, the search engine created for doctors by doctors. It's organized by specialty or can be searched by topic to cross all disciplines.
- World Health Organization
WHO’s primary role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations’ system. They are a terrific resource for data and reports on health issues from around the world.
