Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art History

This subject guide covers the different art resources the Tredway library has for you to use, as well as information on other places you can look to support your research needs.

Find books, articles, movies, and more.

Advanced Search

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

‚ÄčTredway Library Resources (ALiCat+Articles): This option searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources. This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.

Everything (ALiCat+Articles+I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases. 

Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.

WorldCat: This option searches across libraries worldwide. If you cannot find what you need at our library or another I-Share library, you can search in Worldcat and place a request using our Interlibrary Loan service (ILL). 

Advanced Search

To perform an advanced search, click on the "advanced search" link located just below the Primo search box above. You'll not only be able to select which collections to search in, you'll also see different fields you can enter your search terms in. You can also limit by material type, language, and publication date. 

Below are listed some of the library's databases that may be of use to you for art history research. Some databases may be more appropriate for your topic than others, and some focus more on journal articles while others focus on art and architecture images. Pay attention to the databases' descriptions; to see a full list of our databases, please look at our A-Z database list