First Year Inquiry 101

Welcome to Special Collections! Gain more insight into conducting research in Special Collections.

Special Collections collects, preserves, and provides access to rare, valuable, and/or unique items. Examples of materials include rare books, manuscripts (or archival materials), photographs, audiovisual items, maps, artifacts, ephemera, and other unique formats. Though we focus on numerous topics and genres, we specialize in materials related to Augustana College and the local area. The materials held in Special Collections are non-circulating, but may be requested for on-site use in the Reading Room (pictured below!).​​​​​​

Interested in using content from Special Collections? If so, Special Collections staff welcome questions about our materials, Augustana history, and topics related to our collections. We can also help you with finding, evaluating, and citing materials. 

To begin, contact us in the following ways: 

• In person: Special Collections is located on the first floor of the Thomas Tredway Library. Walk-in visits to view items of interest or ask questions are welcome during open hours (Monday-Thursday, 1:00-5:00 pm). If you prefer an alternative time to visit, book an appointment with us.
• By e-mail: specialcollections@augustana.edu
• By phone: (309) 794-7643
• Research consultation: If you have in-depth questions or need help researching a topic, meet with a librarian for a research consultation. Book an appointment with us.

For more information about Special Collections, visit the Special Collections homepage. 

Special Collections strives to be a welcoming and flexible environment. The nature of our materials, however, means that we do have some unique procedures and policies. 

• Special Collections is a closed-stack, non-circulating facility. Requested materials will be retrieved by staff for use in the Reading Room. 
• For each visit to Special Collections, you will be asked to fill out a registration card. You will be asked to provide your full name and contact information. It’s very easy to complete!
• To preserve the materials for many more years, we request that students follow the Special Collections Reading Room Policies.  Staff will be available to assist with any questions regarding handling and using materials.