This page has a number of popular science publications which will be best bets for finding examples of what your own popular science articles should look like. Remember that not all major news outlets have a section dedicated to science & technology, and these specialist publications may be the best examples of popular science communication.
All of the resources on this page may be accessed under the Databases A-Z tab on the library homepage.
Where to Start:
What's included?
*Full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources
*Company Dossier containing company information
*Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789 to the present
**To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
What's included?
*Full-text coverage from ethnic and minority presses
What's included?
*Full-text to newspapers relating to various topics
*Access to St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Washington Post, USA Today, and more
What's included?
*Full coverage from national and international newspapers from 1980 to present
*Newspapers include, but limited to:
1. Boston Globe
2. Chicago Tribune
3. Denver Post
4. Los Angeles Times
5. New York Times
6. Washington Post
7. Wall Street Journal
What's included?
*Full coverage to resources of alternative press resources, produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century
What's included?
*Augustana's student newspaper covers the years 1902-2020
As you begin to investigate news sources, keep the following in mind:
Consider why the publication was written. This will inform how you use it in your research. Was it written...
For scientific purposes? To purely report an observed phenomenon?
For sensationalism? For entertainment?
To capitalize on fear?
To teach prevention strategies?
To reassure a panicked public?
To push an agenda?
Consider what the form and purpose of the writing tell you.
What does it say about public discourse surrounding the topic? How is it being talked about?
What does it show of public perceptions, or possibly misconceptions, surrounding the issue?
What impact does the issue have on daily life and individual behavior?
What views of the future do the authors offer? What are they forecasting the impact(s) of the issue will be?
How does the perception at the time of writing stand up against what we know now?
What's included?
*Tool to interact with data to create maps, charts, reports on demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more
What's included?
*Full access to reference books covering multiple subject areas
What's included?
*Access to data on a large range of global problems in health, education, violence, political power, human rights, war, poverty, inequality, energy, hunger, and humanity’s impact on the environment
Health Disparities in the United States
by
Challenging students to think critically about the complex web of social forces that leads to health disparities in the United States. The health care system in the United States has been called the best in the world. Yet wide disparities persist between social groups, and many Americans suffer from poorer health than people in other developed countries. In this revised edition of Health Disparities in the United States, Donald A. Barr provides extensive new data about the ways low socioeconomic status, race, and ethnicity interact to create and perpetuate these health disparities. Examining the significance of this gulf for the medical community and society at large, Barr offers potential policy- and physician-based solutions for reducing health inequity in the long term. This thoroughly updated edition focuses on a new challenge the United States last experienced more than half a century ago: successive years of declining life expectancy. Barr addresses the causes of this decline, including what are commonly referred to as "deaths of despair"--from opiate overdose or suicide. Exploring the growing role geography plays in health disparities, Barr asks why people living in rural areas suffer the greatest increases in these deaths. He also analyzes recent changes under the Affordable Care Act and considers the literature on how race and ethnicity affect the way health care providers evaluate and treat patients. As both a physician and a sociologist, Barr is uniquely positioned to offer rigorous medical explanations alongside sociological analysis. An essential text for courses in public health, health policy, and sociology, this compelling book is a vital teaching tool and a comprehensive reference for social science and medical professionals.
The Political Determinants of Health
by
How do policy and politics influence the social conditions that generate health outcomes? Reduced life expectancy, worsening health outcomes, health inequity, and declining health care options--these are now realities for most Americans. However, in a country of more than 325 million people, addressing everyone's issues is challenging. How can we effect beneficial change for everyone so we all can thrive? What is the great equalizer? In this book, Daniel E. Dawes argues that political determinants of health create the social drivers--including poor environmental conditions, inadequate transportation, unsafe neighborhoods, and lack of healthy food options--that affect all other dynamics of health. By understanding these determinants, their origins, and their impact on the equitable distribution of opportunities and resources, we will be better equipped to develop and implement actionable solutions to close the health gap. Dawes draws on his firsthand experience helping to shape major federal policies, including the Affordable Care Act, to describe the history of efforts to address the political determinants that have resulted in health inequities. Taking us further upstream to the underlying source of the causes of inequities, Dawes examines the political decisions that lead to our social conditions, makes the social determinants of health more accessible, and provides a playbook for how we can address them effectively. A thought-provoking and evocative account that considers both the policies we think of as "health policy" and those that we don't, The Political Determinants of Health provides a novel, multidisciplinary framework for addressing the systemic barriers preventing the United States from becoming the healthiest nation in the world.
Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Disease
by
New emerging diseases, new diagnostic modalities for resource-poor settings, new vaccine schedules . all significant, recent developments in the fast-changing field of tropical medicine. Hunter's Tropical Medicine and Emerging Infectious Diseases, 10th Edition, keeps you up to date with everything from infectious diseases and environmental issues through poisoning and toxicology, animal injuries, and nutritional and micronutrient deficiencies that result from traveling to tropical or subtropical regions. This comprehensive resource provides authoritative clinical guidance, useful statistics, and chapters covering organs, skills, and services, as well as traditional pathogen-based content. You'll get a full understanding of how to recognize and treat these unique health issues, no matter how widespread or difficult to control. Includes important updates on malaria, leishmaniasis, tuberculosis and HIV, as well as coverage of Ebola, Zika virus, Chikungunya, and other emerging pathogens. Provides new vaccine schedules and information on implementation. Features five all-new chapters: Neglected Tropical Diseases: Public Health Control Programs and Mass Drug Administration; Health System and Health Care Delivery; Zika; Medical Entomology; and Vector Control - as well as 250 new images throughout. Presents the common characteristics and methods of transmission for each tropical disease, as well as the applicable diagnosis, treatment, control, and disease prevention techniques. Contains skills-based chapters such as dentistry, neonatal pediatrics and ICMI, and surgery in the tropics, and service-based chapters such as transfusion in resource-poor settings, microbiology, and imaging. Discusses maladies such as delusional parasitosis that are often seen in returning travelers, including those making international adoptions, transplant patients, medical tourists, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Conn's Current Therapy 2020
What's included?
*Full access to reference books covering multiple subject areas
What's included?
*Online encyclopedias covering multiple subject areas
What's included?
*Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE and other resources