LibGuides: MUSC 133: Ludomusicology (Dr. Farmer): Finding Articles in Library Databases

Relevant Resources

Academic Sources
OneSearch

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text coverage to over 1,000 of business, management, accounting, finance, and economics journals. More than 10,000 company profiles are included from Datamonitor.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing to over 570 communication and mass media journals along with full-text to over 450 journals.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present covering every area related to economics.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of sexual diversity issues containing more than 921,000 records spanning from 1972 to the present.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Articles from all of the publications of the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.

OneSearch provides a simple way to search for books, eBooks, videos, articles, digital media, and more, all in one place. In the search box above, you will see a drop-down list of options for filtering your search. To find articles, you have several options:

Tredway resources (Library holdings + Articles): This is the default option which searches all of the library's physical and electronic resources (books, eBooks, videos, journal/magazine articles, and electronic references sources). This search also includes items in Special Collections and the Swenson Center.
Everything (Library holdings + Articles + I-Share): This option searches across everything, including articles from our databases, as well as books available to us through the I-Share service.
Articles only: This option searches for journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers articles, and electronic reference material across our databases.

Adding Database Filters

In many databases, you will have a number of options to filter your results. When possible, I recommend filtering for full text (to make sure you get the full article rather than just a citation), peer-reviewed (when you need scholarly sources, this filter saves you a lot of time), and by date (to make sure you are getting the most up-to-date research). The following screenshot shows what these filters might look like in Academic Search Complete or other Ebsco databases, though you will see similar filters in most databases regardless of the interface, don't be afraid to explore:

And in OneSearch: