LibGuides: World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures Resources: Find Articles

Article Databases from Tredway Library

For journal articles, book chapters, and/or reviews:

Many of the databases below contain material in Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Mandarin, and/or Swedish. On the advanced search screen, or in your results list, look for an option to limit by language.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts as well as historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It provides indexing to more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
References western-language articles and book chapters published since 1971 pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.

Clase & Periodica
A database of 2,600 scholarly journals from 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean and published in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. These journals specialize in science, technology, the social sciences, and the humanities.
Subject areas: World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures; History; Political Science
PRISMA
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. PRISMA features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content. Articles examine all aspects of Hispanic Studies, from research on indigenous cultures past and present to current economic indicators, politics and society, and Hispanic theatre. Coverage includes Anthropology, Business and Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology.
Subject areas: Anthropology; World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures; History; Political Science; Sociology & WGS

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in multiple disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
The library subscribes to the Humanities Collection which contains full-text coverage of journal articles on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 6,300 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.

For international news articles:

Nexis Uni and NewsBank index articles from news organizations--English- and non-English-language--across the globe. For Nexis Uni, in addition to a keyword search, try the "Country Info" option under "Guided Search." For NewsBank, try a heading under the "International Studies" button or the "Map Search" feature. Results can be limited by language, geography, and publication in which the article appeared.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni, the successor of LexisNexis Academic, provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures or identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present.
To access Nexis Uni from off-campus, you must first register (create an account) while on campus.
1. Access Nexis Uni through the Augustana College library website (choose “Databases A-Z” from the drop-down menu at the bottom).
2. Click Sign In / Register in the top right.
3. Click Create a profile now on the right.
4. Enter your name and your Augustana email address.
5. Complete the sign-in profile.
6. After the username and password you have entered is verified, it will become active.
From off-campus, USE THIS LINK to access Nexis Uni (scroll down to find "Nexis Uni" on the landing page).
Keeping your access active: In order to keep access active, users are required to sign in from an on-campus computer or device every six months to maintain authorization.

NewsBank
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues including 12,000 total sources with 300+ Illinois publications and 200 countries represented along with diverse news media such as trade journals, video, audio files, broadcast transcripts.